New York-Style Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I just finished making this recipe and it made enough batter for 2- 9inch cakes. Great flavor though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Dube

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
My daughter requested a Home-Made cheesecake for her graduation. I couldn't find the recipe I have used for years so I came to Allrecipes looking for a good cheesecake. My cheesecake always cracks so I liked that this recipe included a trick to prevent that. Even though Chef John's cracked in his video. I followed the recipe with the exception of needing to add a little more butter and adding sugar to the crust mixture. I baked for 50 min then turned off my oven and let it sit. I checked after a couple of hours and still no crack!!! After cooling in the oven and on the counter for 3 + hours I placed in the fridge uncovered so avoid moisture buildup. Next morning I took it out of the fridge and had my husband witness that I had successfully made a cheesecake with no crack!! It was BEAUTIFUL and looked perfect from top to bottom. Next test... the taste at the party. I had the graduate take the first piece and she loved it!! I felt it was a little on the lemony side but otherwise great taste and texture. YUMMY!! We have a new cheesecake recipe in the family for sure. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 780 Gms
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I always get perfect results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 780 Gms

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I made this cheesecake and it was excellent the best,cheesecake ever.i put a water bath under the cake in the oven.i had no cracks came out perect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Um... this doesn't taste like cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
It is just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This is one of the BEST cheese cakes I've EVER made! I followed every step and its delicious! The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Very bland in taste! The crust needed way more butter, the cake had little to no taste and leaving it in the over after it was done cooking only over cooked it. I might try it again, but increase both the sugar and the vanilla. I will also either under cook it and leave it in the oven or fully cook it and take my chances on the cracking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L DB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I loved the cheesecake, but the 3 to 4 hours thing is probably not the best thing I liked to put it in the refrigerator over night which gave it a cool and fresh taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
For crust 18 crackers is way too much especially for the little butter he adds. I would use only NABISCO original graham ..About 12-15 crackers should do it, finely crushed -add 6tbs melted unsalted butter, a dash of kosher salt and 2 tbs of white sugar if you wish along with dashes of cinnamon/ nutmeg powder. I baked crust for 10 minutes at 350 (others bake theirs at 375 for 7 minutes). I foil a cookie/sheet pan not the actual springform as I don't place mine in a water bath (I simply fill a rectangular pan with hot water and place it on the lowest rack of the oven -- cheesecake/ cookie sheet on middle rack). I zest lemongrass rather than a lemon, and orange zest. I use high grade vanilla extract (haitian vanilla essence is amazing in my opinion). I mix light or heavy cream with lowfat or regular milk to total 2/3 cup of "milk". Sour cream, eggs, cream, milk, butter all at room temp and have to be very very very soft or warm because I mix everything by hand/spoon. I bake my cake at 325 not 350 for just under 1 hour ( 57-58 minutes does the trick with toasted sides puffed up and a bit of jiggle in the middle. I crack oven door open to cool with no heat for exactly ONE hour. No cracks EVER! Cool on counter for ONE hour - chill in fridge overnight covered with foil or plastic wrap. When taken out of oven I run warm butter knife around edges to prevent from sticking to ring. AMAZING!! Amazing!!????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States