New York-Style Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This recipe is easy peezy! I love it. This is my 3rd time making a cheesecake with this recipe and it comes out perfect each time. The last time, I put the cheesecake pan in a hot water bath. But either way it still comes out perfectly without cracks! Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dundalk, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I love chef John and I love his recipes, this one included. I made 4 cheesecakes altogether. Two using his method of keeping them in the oven after cooking, one using my never fail water bath, and the last using his method again. The water bath never fails!! His method gave me the nastiest cracks I've ever encountered, tasted great but looked terrible.. Water bath was great... Just bake for 25 minutes longer and let cool on a rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I am so exited with this recipe. My first cheesecake that didn't break. I didn't have the time to leave it in oven as its now midnite so I put aluminum foil around the pan and placed it inside a pan with water, I cooked it 350° for 1hour and 20mins let it cool down and placed in fridge till next day. Delicious recepi, couldn't wait to upload a picture the next day as it's for my sisters birthday and I will decorate it a little.. But I just had to upload right away to show everyone it did not break!!! Great recipe ThankYou!! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xiomara Valentin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Very good. I added a little coco powder to chocolate graham crackers. In addition, I used almond extract instead of vanilla. The orange zest and almond really work well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This is the first cheesecake recipe I ever tried to make and now I don't want to use any other recipe out of fear it will not be as good. I was very impressed with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Goon Huay Hong
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Thanks for sharing the recipe and the video as it helps a lot. This is my first cheese cake and its turn out great. Dense and delicious. Even thought I am force to do some substitution as where I lived, sour cream is not available and I dont have yogurt in hand, I use homemade buttermilk.(as buttermilk is not available as well) For the graham crackers I used 2 1/2 cups (crushed) as I do not know how much is 18 graham crackers. For topping I use homemade Golden syrup.(recipe by Todd kitchen)As I did not leave long enough in the fridge to set, when cutting the crumbs did comes a bit lose. Its taste better the next day and less crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goon Huay Hong
Home Town: Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: Latina, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This was amazingly good! I made it as directed and it turned out just like the pictures. We ate it after it cooled in the pan and never refrigerated it. It was the most awesome tasting cheesecake I've ever had, bar none. I used a can of raspberry pie filling on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
My only "quibble" such as it is - clarity of a couple of details. "Small spot" in the middle - apparently my spot was TOO small, as I ended up slightly overbaking it. Also recipe doesn't specify to soften the cream cheese - I know it needs softened - but someone completely unfamiliar with making cheesecake could get frustrated wondering how the heck to whisk solid cream cheese! I also subbed about 2 tsp of lemon juice as I didn't have zest on hand - flavor was superb. Oops, also subbed 1 cup greek yogurt for the sour cream - texture and flavor was still excellent. Overmixed - my fault, I know better. The overbake - had never made it this way before, and my guess on the "small" was off. I should've shut off the oven when it was about silver dollar size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States