New York-Style Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I loved the cheesecake, but the 3 to 4 hours thing is probably not the best thing I liked to put it in the refrigerator over night which gave it a cool and fresh taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
For crust 18 crackers is way too much especially for the little butter he adds. I would use only NABISCO original graham ..About 12-15 crackers should do it, finely crushed -add 6tbs melted unsalted butter, a dash of kosher salt and 2 tbs of white sugar if you wish along with dashes of cinnamon/ nutmeg powder. I baked crust for 10 minutes at 350 (others bake theirs at 375 for 7 minutes). I foil a cookie/sheet pan not the actual springform as I don't place mine in a water bath (I simply fill a rectangular pan with hot water and place it on the lowest rack of the oven -- cheesecake/ cookie sheet on middle rack). I zest lemongrass rather than a lemon, and orange zest. I use high grade vanilla extract (haitian vanilla essence is amazing in my opinion). I mix light or heavy cream with lowfat or regular milk to total 2/3 cup of "milk". Sour cream, eggs, cream, milk, butter all at room temp and have to be very very very soft or warm because I mix everything by hand/spoon. I bake my cake at 325 not 350 for just under 1 hour ( 57-58 minutes does the trick with toasted sides puffed up and a bit of jiggle in the middle. I crack oven door open to cool with no heat for exactly ONE hour. No cracks EVER! Cool on counter for ONE hour - chill in fridge overnight covered with foil or plastic wrap. When taken out of oven I run warm butter knife around edges to prevent from sticking to ring. AMAZING!! Amazing!!????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I adjusted this for a gluten free cheese cake. It turned out incredible! Good job, guys! Love it, love it, love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Sohn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This is the first cheesecake I have ever made and the response that I got from my family.. It's the only cheesecake I will ever make. This is a great recipe!! I get request to make these cheesecake all the time. Thanks for the amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
it turned out great no cracks very moist but firm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry Lewis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Trexlertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This was my first attempt at making cheesecake. It cracked pretty good. Had the exact same crack as the one in Johns video actually. But lawdy, did it ever taste good! I topped it with cherry pie filling. Took some to work, and even one guy who admittedly doesn't like cheesecake raved about it. I was informed that is was "BOMB" in a good way. Next one I make I'll top with a homemade raspberry sauce. I plan on making many more of these. They're yumminess will overpower all, and the peasants will rejoice under the rule of their new cheesecake overlord!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paulwall
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Best cheesecake I've ever had. Even my mother-in-law loved it. She wouldn't stop talking about it the whole time she was visiting. I made it along with Chef John's strawberry sauce. You can't go wrong with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulwall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This recipe is easy peezy! I love it. This is my 3rd time making a cheesecake with this recipe and it comes out perfect each time. The last time, I put the cheesecake pan in a hot water bath. But either way it still comes out perfectly without cracks! Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dundalk, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I love chef John and I love his recipes, this one included. I made 4 cheesecakes altogether. Two using his method of keeping them in the oven after cooking, one using my never fail water bath, and the last using his method again. The water bath never fails!! His method gave me the nastiest cracks I've ever encountered, tasted great but looked terrible.. Water bath was great... Just bake for 25 minutes longer and let cool on a rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey

Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States