New York Strip Chicago Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
It was just OK. Next time I am going to use brown sugar instead of regular. The meat came out very tender but the marinade really didn't add much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Absolutely yummy!! Tender, juicy. We used ribeyes. And I threw in a pinch of cayenne pepper. LOVED all the flavors! We also doubled the recipe to accomodate the BIGGER steaks. We bbq'd them just like we always BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Was good, but it was missing something. The cinnamon was a nice surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Ten minutes on high heat would have totally incinerated this steak. I used filet mignon and although it turned out perfectly medium (grilled differently), the flavor just wasn't there for us. I had high hopes that this would turn out to be extraordinary, but unfortunately, it turned out to be somewhat of a disappointment..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Very good flavor. I would not have thought that apricot preserves and steak would go together but they do. The second time I made this, I used raspberry jalapeno persevere and it was even better. I can't give this 5 stars though because of the cooking directions. If you grill your strip on a high grill for 10 mins, you'll have a hunk of carbon. You want to caramelize the sugars not burn them. I did a medium direct grill for 6 minutes a side (starting with a hot grill to sear) the strips came out perfect medium. The second time I did a high indirect for 6 minutes a side and the outside was a bit crisp and the inside was pinker. Very juicy char broil. I'll do the indirect method again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chadsolomon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
AWESOME! Simple, easy, tasty! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Not quite the impacet I was hoping for .......but still it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
very good--follow the recipe as is--did pan fry! You can really taste the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Tasty! I used a Mango Tango jam I had. I kinda burned the steaks, though. :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Nice flavor. The kids said it tastes different. I wasn't sure if that was a good thing or a bad thing until they proceded to devour it! I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States