New York Strip Chicago Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
The marinade was excellent. I did add some cayenne pepper to it for a balance with the sweet of the preserves. However, it would be much better on a different protein like chicken or boneless pork chops. The sweet was to much for a strip and really overpowered the flavor of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmlvy75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
It was just OK. Next time I am going to use brown sugar instead of regular. The meat came out very tender but the marinade really didn't add much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Absolutely yummy!! Tender, juicy. We used ribeyes. And I threw in a pinch of cayenne pepper. LOVED all the flavors! We also doubled the recipe to accomodate the BIGGER steaks. We bbq'd them just like we always BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Faler-Sisco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Was good, but it was missing something. The cinnamon was a nice surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Ten minutes on high heat would have totally incinerated this steak. I used filet mignon and although it turned out perfectly medium (grilled differently), the flavor just wasn't there for us. I had high hopes that this would turn out to be extraordinary, but unfortunately, it turned out to be somewhat of a disappointment..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Very good flavor. I would not have thought that apricot preserves and steak would go together but they do. The second time I made this, I used raspberry jalapeno persevere and it was even better. I can't give this 5 stars though because of the cooking directions. If you grill your strip on a high grill for 10 mins, you'll have a hunk of carbon. You want to caramelize the sugars not burn them. I did a medium direct grill for 6 minutes a side (starting with a hot grill to sear) the strips came out perfect medium. The second time I did a high indirect for 6 minutes a side and the outside was a bit crisp and the inside was pinker. Very juicy char broil. I'll do the indirect method again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chadsolomon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
AWESOME! Simple, easy, tasty! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Not quite the impacet I was hoping for .......but still it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
very good--follow the recipe as is--did pan fry! You can really taste the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Tasty! I used a Mango Tango jam I had. I kinda burned the steaks, though. :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States