New York Strip Chicago Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
I do not have a grill so made this in a regular frying pan. It was easy and the taste was incredible. And this from someone who rarely cooks steak. However, I am a professional food taster who works for a large food company so I know good food when I taste it. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
AWESOME! Simple, easy, tasty! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
Substituted flank steak, as opposed to sirloin. Excellent taste. Even better the next day. Would also try on pork tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
What a delicious recipe! Everyone loved this one. So easy to prepare and just outstanding results. We liked this one so much better than a filet mignon recipe I made the night before where preparation took nearly two hours! You cannot beat this recipe. Thanks for sharing. P.S. Served with the roasted potato recipe from this site, the one where you use different colored potatoes. The flavors were a perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
My husband and I didn't care for this. Although the beef was tender, it didn't seem to have much flavor. Perhaps the marinade could be adjusted, but as is, I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
my boyfriend & i both enjoyed the unique flavor & moistness this marinade gave our strip steaks. we marinated the steaks all afternoon then grilled them to medium doneness. thanks ted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
Easy to make but the flavor was just so-so. Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
I used this rub on Ribeyes and let it marinate, like it recomended... 1 hour, and the steaks turned out great!! They were tender and had a great flavor. My family raved about it, definately something I will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Very good flavor. I would not have thought that apricot preserves and steak would go together but they do. The second time I made this, I used raspberry jalapeno persevere and it was even better. I can't give this 5 stars though because of the cooking directions. If you grill your strip on a high grill for 10 mins, you'll have a hunk of carbon. You want to caramelize the sugars not burn them. I did a medium direct grill for 6 minutes a side (starting with a hot grill to sear) the strips came out perfect medium. The second time I did a high indirect for 6 minutes a side and the outside was a bit crisp and the inside was pinker. Very juicy char broil. I'll do the indirect method again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chadsolomon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Tasty! I used a Mango Tango jam I had. I kinda burned the steaks, though. :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States