New York Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2000
By using a total of 1 1/4 cups of water and using the "Dough" setting on my bread machine, I made the best free-form rye loaf I've made to date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
As others sis I upped the water. I actually started with 1 and 1/4 cup and added another tbs after that. I also upped the oil as suggested by one review to 1/4 cup. Then as another reveiwer sugested I went with 2 cups rye and 1 2/3 cup regular flour turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is a FANTASTIC recipe for Homemade Rye!!! As with other reviewer's, I used 2 cups dark rye flour and 1 2/3rds cup all-purpose flour and as I didn't have any honey, I used 1 1/2 tbsp plain sugar, also increased the vegetable oil to a 1/4 cup and increased the caraway seeds to 1 tbsp (gotta have lots of seeds!!!) This is fantastic and I couldn't wait to dive in when it was cool enough! it complemented the Butternut Squash Soup I had for dinner! YUM-YUM! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
This bread stayed fresh for longer than other breads. It is still good after three or four days. I like more caraway flavor. So I use at least 1 Tablespoon. I also used 1 1/4 cups of water. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I made this bread as stated (except for the caraway seeds, we didn't have any on hand). The only thing I did differently is to make it by hand. I baked it at 350 for 30 minutes. Some people complained that it made a dinky sized loaf, but I don't think it was small. I thought is was a good sized loaf. Granted I'm going to have to make 2 loaves this week instead of my usual one loaf because everyone keeps going back for more sandwhiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
We LOVED this bread! I'm making all of our bread now instead of buying at the store, and this recipe will take a top spot in my recipe box :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
After many Rye Bread recipe failures this one came through for me with flying colors. I made some subtle changes however. I increased the amount of water to 1-1/4 cups, the amount of oil to 1/4 cup, and the amount of caraway seeds to 3 teaspoons. I also combined the water, honey and yeast and allowed it to sit for 10 minutes prior to adding the remaining ingredients. I set my bread machine on the dough cycle and then transferred the dough to a greased bread pan when it was finished. I did not punch the dough down. I formed it into a loaf shape, covered it with a damp towel, and allowed it to rise for 40 minutes. I baked it for 30 minutes at 350 degrees and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jyano
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I will echo the other positive comments. I have probably made this recipe 25 times now, with variations, and find it to be the best I've tried. I take it for lunch almost every day. It is moist, it does keep longer than others It bakes well in the oven, and it does need at least 1 1/4 cups of water. Really excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jyano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Once again, echoing the sentiments of needing more water. Other than that, this loaf turned out absolutely perfect. I'm keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This is a great bread..I do it without a bread machine and it comes out wonderful everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States