New York Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This turned out great in the end. But when we checked the dough during the first knead cycle, as recommended by our bread machine's instructions, we needed to add quite a bit of water, as the dough was too dry. With the extra water, it turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Mine came out like a brick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made this without a bread machine (although the kitchen aid mixer does about as much of my work) and it was wonderful. Very fluffy, great texture and delicious. I added all the dry ingredients plus the oil to the mixer bowl while mixing the warm water, honey, yeast and milk powder together and let them sit for 10 minutes. Then I added the liquid (1 1/4 cup water and about another tbl spn added during the kneading) and let the machine knead for about 5 minutes. I let it rise in a warm place (greased bowl with tight lid floating in a sink of warm water) for 45 minutes, punched it down and put it in a warm oven for 5 minutes and then took it out while the oven pre-heated. Baked for 40 minutes @ 350. My husband says I "bake good bread."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made this recipe as is for the first try. No changes. Could not use the bread machine as it was too dense to knead it. Will try again following some of the reviews to add more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Good hearty rye bread but it is a heavier bread. The crust was nice and crusty after baking but it did not raise as high as I wanted and was not as light as I wanted. I will try it again though. I did increase with 2 cups of rye to 1 2/3 cups of white flour as suggested but that may have made it more dense but I like healthier breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I followed the suggestions made by others and reversed the rye and bread flour amounts and I omitted the dry milk powder, but I added 1/4 milk to my warm water. Made this with a stand mixer and I was a bit worried the dough might be too stiff, but it worked out quite well. Very tasty, dense rye bread to rival my local (NY) bakery. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This is a great bread..I do it without a bread machine and it comes out wonderful everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is a FANTASTIC recipe for Homemade Rye!!! As with other reviewer's, I used 2 cups dark rye flour and 1 2/3rds cup all-purpose flour and as I didn't have any honey, I used 1 1/2 tbsp plain sugar, also increased the vegetable oil to a 1/4 cup and increased the caraway seeds to 1 tbsp (gotta have lots of seeds!!!) This is fantastic and I couldn't wait to dive in when it was cool enough! it complemented the Butternut Squash Soup I had for dinner! YUM-YUM! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
We LOVED this bread! I'm making all of our bread now instead of buying at the store, and this recipe will take a top spot in my recipe box :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
used the no-knead/high heat process for this but added 1C chopped onions - roasted to eliminate water and carmelize a bit (otherwise bread soggy) and toasted the caraways a few minutes. Kept rye content to no more than 20% - great crusty bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States