New York Italian Style Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Perfect cheesecake. I didn't have sour cream so I used Greek yogurt, which was very good. The lemon makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ezzell
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
If you don't like a sweet cheese cake this is the one for you.I made the ricotta cheese and made it as low salt as I could and it is good. Not to sweet with a tart from the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ezzell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vatech90
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This cheesecake is wonderful! I've been making another recipe from this site, but decided to try a more "authentic" one. I'm glad I found this one! I'm not sure why others had a problem with the texture or it being too runny. Mine came out smooth as silk and set up perfectly. I turned the oven off after one hour and let it sit for the additional two and when I went to remove it from the oven it was still quite hot. I baked mine in a 10" springform pan and it barely fit. The only thing I did differently was use 16 oz of non-fat greek yogurt instead of the sour cream. I put a triple berry reduction on top with fresh strawberries and dollops of fresh whipped cream. It wasn't overly sweet and the berries were a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
being an Italian from New Jersey I must say this is the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Grainy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This cake tasted great, but when I made it, I had patches of unincorporated sour cream. Maybe I was too gentle with the folding it in. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is the best cheesecake I have ever had. I made it for dessert for an early Christmas celebration. Everyone raved about it. The only thing I changed was, I used no flour and increased the cornstarch to 4 1/2 Tbls since we have people who require a gluten free diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
My husband told me that cheesecake is his favorite dessert, so I tried this recipe (my first cheesecake ever!). He has to be on a gluten-free diet, so I eliminated the flour and used a total of 6 tablespoons of corn starch. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. It had a shallow 4 inch crack in the middle when I took it out of the oven, but it wasn't a big deal to me. The taste was perfect! Not too sweet, very creamy... exactly what my tastebuds were hoping for! I served it with sliced strawberries that had been sprinkled with sugar to make a light syrup. Very, very good recipe... Thanks for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This is just what I've been looking for! This is what I've always been told NY Style Cheescake should be. I've eaten it in restaurants many times and it's wonderful. I dislike any kind of cookie crust, and from what I'm told, it doesn't belong on a true NY Style Cheescake! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
THIS is the one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustoffmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntingdon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States