New York Italian Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Used AP flour, added 1t m garlic, 1/4 t each oreg, basil & pepper to water before flour (double spice next time,couldn't taste) & 1 full pkge (2 1/2 tsp) quick rise yeast. Rested 20 minutes then on dough setting of bread machine for 15 min. Dough was so wet it would've poured out so added 1/4 c flour, in machine an additional 5 min. It still poured onto counter so added another 3/4 c flour, still really wet but covered it & hoped for the best, almost threw it out. We won't talk about the clean up! It rose in fridge for about 2 hrs. The dough spread over pans easily unlike store bought dough. Crust was crispy outside and chewy inside, a big hit with the family. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Keswick, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I am so happy to have found this recipe. After countless efforts over several years, I finally made a perfect, NY-style pizza dough! I couldn't believe how good it was, and this will be my go-to pizza dough recipe from now on. Thank you so much for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I have been wanting to perfect home made pizza for years. Finally I have the right crust recipe. Too many recipes called for 1/4 olive oil in the dough recipe. This made for a heavy crust. Recipes are always a bit tricky in the mile high city, but not only did this come out beautifully, but it was as silky as a baby's bottom. I, too, was short on time so I left the dough in the fridge for only 1 hour. I also used my kitchen aide mixer to make and kneed the dough. AND perhaps the best suggestion for those like me who have louse ovens, I used my gas grill outside with a pizza stone. 500 degrees. My ONLY suggestion would be to add some sea salt to the crust before cooking. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Made this recipe multiple times. It is great. I use the fast rising yeast and my kitchen aid mixer, turns wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This is a great recipe! I made is later in the evening so we could have it for lunch the next day. I make it in my mixer with the dough hook attachment. What a beautiful dough, easy to work and just like the recipe says 'soft as a babies bottom'!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Excellent dough. It's got great flavor and is always crispy. I would give this 5 stars but I always have to add more flour than the recipe calls for. Therefore, 4 stars due to measurements being off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This is by far the best pizza dough recipe that I have ever made. I make this ahead of time in a heavy duty mixer. I then divide the dough into four separate portions, put each portion in a 1 quart freezer Zip Lock bag, label and freeze. the night before I am going to make pizza, I put one of the portions in the refrigerator to thaw overnight. I then roll the dough out on a heavily floured surface, sprinkle more flour on the top of the dough to keep it from sticking and roll out to a medium size pizza, slightly larger than the pizza peal. Sprinkle corn meal on the pizza peal to keep the pizza dough from sticking to it. Roll the dough around a rolling pin so that it will keep its shape and roll back out onto the pizza peal. Press the dough to shape and bring the edges up slightly to hold the sauce. Spread sauce out evenly and top with your favorite toppings. I cooked the pizza on a preheated pizza stone in a convection oven at 525 degrees for 9 minutes. Let cool for a few minutes before slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Needed to add about 2 or 3 cups of extra flour to make this dough workable. In the quantity described here it is more the consistency or batter than dough. It was good after I did that, but I ended up with more dough than I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drew Boone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
The taste of the crust was ok but the dough is impossible to work with. When kneading, it didn't become elastic. As for thin crust, that just didn't happen because it puffed up a lot. I even rolled it out to about 20 inches. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I am curious to know if anyone has tried making breadsticks with this dough. If so why temp do you bake them at? I would think not as high as the pizza but not sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Chef John's Spelt Pizza Dough

See how to make a gluten-free pizza crust!

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States