New York Italian Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This is the pizza dough recipe I've been looking for! Makes a real New York style pizza. I read a website by a famous New York pizza maker, and he said you had to have a sticky, tacky dough- well, none of the doughs I've made so far have come close until now. Thanks for this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
The best pizza dough I've tried so far. It's soft, chewy, and shapes greatly. You will easily get thinner, crispier bottom but chewy and soft edge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
pre bake the crust before freezing or baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
really good crust. I found the recipe last minute, mixed it in the bread maker, and didn't have time to let it sit 10 hours. It sat in the fridge for 3 hours. I didn't let it warm up to room temp either. Baked it as instructed and the kids loved it. So, I can't wait to make it ahead of time to get the actual taste of it. If you don't want it doughy this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
easy and delicious- didn't have to use a dough hook- did it all by hand. my crust did not come out as thin as i would have liked it. i think this is a matter of technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
All I can say is--wow! I didn't know it was possible to bake such a good crust at home. I did 2 cups whole wheat flour and also used wheat flour to dust it on the pan. I also added 2 tsp. of wheat gluten. I only let it set in the fridge for 5 hours but I did wait for it to warm to room temperature. But I can't say enough good things--yum yum yum! I used to live in NY and this was at least as good as other pizza I ate there, including pizza where I used to buy dough from a local Italian bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Terrific- people could not believe how spot-on the flavor and texture was! This will go in heavy rotation, even if I have to plan ahead of time a little more than I am apt to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
FOLLOW the recipe. Excellent and the closest to NY style dough i have found on Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was good - really not that much different than others I've made - but good. Probably the texture was the best part - there really wasn't much taste. The overnite thing probably won't happen again. I'm the kind of person that wants to get things done once I've started!?? Oh well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Loved this dough. I did mess up the timing a bit after I took it out of the refrigerator - I let it sit out too long and after cooking, it came out bread-like (thicker) but still had a great crunchy crust. I will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States