New York Italian Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
So close to the dough of my dreams (from Boston, missing the pizza!). The first time I made this, I only left it in the fridge for an hour.. it stretched out wonderfully, flavor was good, and texture spot on! The second time, I left it in the fridge overnight and some of the next day.. flavor was really good, texture chewy and thin and bubbly.. but I couldn't get it to stretch out very well. Definitely going back for more tries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Fantasic thin crust. Used my food processor. Increased flour to 5 cups. Let it rise one hour and made pizza. looking forward to the taste after letting it rest in fridge for the full time. Thanks so much!! I am a fan of Rays Pizza in NYC. This is so close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
we used this dough for Stromboli and is was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth
Home Town: Florence, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I lived in NYC my whole life and when my husband and I had to move out to Monterey We found out all the pizza here sucks very domino's type. Then I found this recipe and it made us very happy. I did find that when you bake the crust if you sauce the middle first it tasted more like NY to me. I love this I just wish I could find a bigger pizza pan. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Di Dominicus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
OK, I've made this recipe four times now. Like many reviews I've read here my first attempts were greeted with a flour milkshake that wouldn't hold into a ball shape. Today I bought White Lily Unbleached Bread Flour and BANG! Had a ball shape before I was finished mixing it. (I do it all in a bowl, using the bread machine is too much clean-up.) The bread flour ingredient cannot be substituted! This is the BEST pizza dough, exactly like a NY pizzeria. Now that I have the flour down, I can have a taste of home at any time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BronR
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Best recipe for pizza dough I've found so far! Texture is what matters here and this has it. I've made it four times now. First time it was tricky working with but you figure it out. I've added flavors since, doubled it, halved it, it always works! Next time I'm substituting flat beer for half the liquid and see what that does, but I'm really having fun with this! Oh, and always toss it, don't roll it! Takes practice but it's fun and you'll get the hang of it! Awesome recipe! Kudos and thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BronR

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This is a GREAT dough! My kids and hubby loved it. He couldn't figure out why mine turned out so much better than his (it's because I use allrecipes and he doesn't)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Nice chewy crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I'll start by saying I have tried making pizza crusts in the past and they have all failed. The middle ends up undercooked and the texture just has never been right. I decided to try this, but instead of mixing in my bread maker, I used my kitchen-aid and doughhook. I turned it out on a large floured surface and it was VERY sticky. I had to add the entire 1/4 cup of addition flour and then some to get it workable. I ended up making my dough very thick, so it didn't turn out thin like NY pizzas usually are, but that was my fault. Baked it on a pizza stone and it turned out AMAZING! The thickness of mine was more like chicago style, but the flavor and texture was great. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Really easy recipe. Came out good will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Le Moine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Chef John's Spelt Pizza Dough

See how to make a gluten-free pizza crust!

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States