New York Italian Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This dough is the ultimate. I will never search for another pizza dough/breadstick dough again as long as I live. It also freezes well. We make a double batch of the dough and save individual pizza-sized balls of dough in ziplock baggies in the freezer, then thaw one whenever we feel like pizza. So easy, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Fantastic pizza dough recipe, nice elasticity to dough and bakes up crispy yet chewy; one of my complaints regarding other recipes is that the crust baked too crisp like a dry old cracker. I baked one crust about 1 hr after refrigerating and the other two crusts a couple of days later. No more takeout pizza for us! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
My husband and I have mastered this recipe! You really have to trust the recipe and keep the dough sticky, do NOT add too much flour. We let it sit in the fridge for 36 hours and it was perfect. We brought it to room temp, rolled out, and topped. We can't wait to show off for our friends! My husband has even perfected the dough toss in the air. Pizzaria style at home! By the way, I make this dough in my stand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Love this recipe. Kids won't let it sit in fridge for more than 4 hours and it still tastes amazing. I add a tsp of sugar (to make up for shorting the chemical reaction that would happen over 10 hours). My family loves garlic, so I use about a tsp of crushed garlic, add some italian seasoning as well (all to the water in bread machine). Makes one amazing pizza and a whole bunch of cheese sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Excellent pizza dough. I have been making pizza for years with the bread machine and my dough always came out bread like. It was really good but I wanted a chewier texture and this was just what I was looking for. I even mess up on the putting a little too much extra flour and it was harder to roll out but it still came out fantastic. I can't wait to try it and do it the right way. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maggie-Cat
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I make mine WITHOUT a bread machine, and it turns out wonderful. I use the same ingredients listed, though I might add up to a cup more flour depending on the humidity, b/c like the recipe states, this IS very sticky dough. To make by hand, I mixed the yeast and water to proof. Then I added the salt, a tsp or two of sugar (that's my only addition), and mixed in the flour until it was able to be turned out onto a floured surface for kneading. I kneaded for 5-10 minutes. Like the recipe states, the dough will be sticky, so I add just enough flour so that it's able to be handled but that it's also not a "stiff" dough. It should be very pliable and soft like a baby's bottom, like the submitter stated ;-) Then I patted it with oil and let it rise (about 1 hour). I then punched it down and made it into 2 crusts; one 10" round pan and one for a 11x13" rectangle sheet. This dough is easily "tossed" and stretched, so have fun with it! **I prebaked our crusts for about 8 minutes on 450°, until they barely started to have golden edges. Then I topped them and baked for about 10 more minutes, until it "looked" done. The center of our pizzas had a thin, chewy crust, and the big outside edges were delicious with a slight crisp outside, and chewy center. Yum!! Next time I'll get some nacho cheese to use as a dip for our crusts, which were tastier than breadsticks IMO:-) I definitely recommend this dough, it's simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie-Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Very simple, good flavor and texture! I didn't let mine proof overnight in the fridge but I will next time. I had it in the fridge about 2 hours. The dough was pretty soft, but still workable. Not exactly like the pizza I grew up with in NJ but better than what's here in GA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Frey Irby

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Louisville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Just enjoying a slice of pie made with this dough recipe, and it's hard not to keep going back and goo-ing up my hands with "one more bite" of it until I finish this review! The quintessential New York pizza has a thin, seared crust layer on the bottom, with light, ethereal bread topped with a thin layer of sauce, cheese, and whatever other items ring your bells. This does not disappoint on any score. This dough stretches easily to supreme thinness when allowed to rest as recommended in the fridge. That's one detraction, that you need to plan ahead. But it can be made and rested for up to 2 days, so no problem. A baking stone is a must for success, as when it's preheated, it will sear the bottom of the crust by instantly drawing out the surface moisture. As for "blandness" that some dislike, remember that a great crust acts as a backdrop for your accoutrements. It's not the star. It is, however, a very important supporting player. If desired, you can flavor it with herbs and/or a few Tb of Parmesan. I found the dough to be too sticky with the proportions listed. Whereas I fully understand that a pizza dough needs as little flour as possible, no way could you work with it, until I added about 1/4 cup of flour, which left it still very sticky, but able to be handled with floured hands. Experiment. You want it sticky, but not quasi-liquid. You're going to love this crust. Second-generation Italian girl here, New York born and raised, and I can tell you, THIS is the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
So close to the dough of my dreams (from Boston, missing the pizza!). The first time I made this, I only left it in the fridge for an hour.. it stretched out wonderfully, flavor was good, and texture spot on! The second time, I left it in the fridge overnight and some of the next day.. flavor was really good, texture chewy and thin and bubbly.. but I couldn't get it to stretch out very well. Definitely going back for more tries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Fantasic thin crust. Used my food processor. Increased flour to 5 cups. Let it rise one hour and made pizza. looking forward to the taste after letting it rest in fridge for the full time. Thanks so much!! I am a fan of Rays Pizza in NYC. This is so close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States