New York Italian Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Very simple, good flavor and texture! I didn't let mine proof overnight in the fridge but I will next time. I had it in the fridge about 2 hours. The dough was pretty soft, but still workable. Not exactly like the pizza I grew up with in NJ but better than what's here in GA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Frey Irby

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Louisville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Just enjoying a slice of pie made with this dough recipe, and it's hard not to keep going back and goo-ing up my hands with "one more bite" of it until I finish this review! The quintessential New York pizza has a thin, seared crust layer on the bottom, with light, ethereal bread topped with a thin layer of sauce, cheese, and whatever other items ring your bells. This does not disappoint on any score. This dough stretches easily to supreme thinness when allowed to rest as recommended in the fridge. That's one detraction, that you need to plan ahead. But it can be made and rested for up to 2 days, so no problem. A baking stone is a must for success, as when it's preheated, it will sear the bottom of the crust by instantly drawing out the surface moisture. As for "blandness" that some dislike, remember that a great crust acts as a backdrop for your accoutrements. It's not the star. It is, however, a very important supporting player. If desired, you can flavor it with herbs and/or a few Tb of Parmesan. I found the dough to be too sticky with the proportions listed. Whereas I fully understand that a pizza dough needs as little flour as possible, no way could you work with it, until I added about 1/4 cup of flour, which left it still very sticky, but able to be handled with floured hands. Experiment. You want it sticky, but not quasi-liquid. You're going to love this crust. Second-generation Italian girl here, New York born and raised, and I can tell you, THIS is the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
So close to the dough of my dreams (from Boston, missing the pizza!). The first time I made this, I only left it in the fridge for an hour.. it stretched out wonderfully, flavor was good, and texture spot on! The second time, I left it in the fridge overnight and some of the next day.. flavor was really good, texture chewy and thin and bubbly.. but I couldn't get it to stretch out very well. Definitely going back for more tries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Fantasic thin crust. Used my food processor. Increased flour to 5 cups. Let it rise one hour and made pizza. looking forward to the taste after letting it rest in fridge for the full time. Thanks so much!! I am a fan of Rays Pizza in NYC. This is so close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
we used this dough for Stromboli and is was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth
Home Town: Florence, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I lived in NYC my whole life and when my husband and I had to move out to Monterey We found out all the pizza here sucks very domino's type. Then I found this recipe and it made us very happy. I did find that when you bake the crust if you sauce the middle first it tasted more like NY to me. I love this I just wish I could find a bigger pizza pan. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
OK, I've made this recipe four times now. Like many reviews I've read here my first attempts were greeted with a flour milkshake that wouldn't hold into a ball shape. Today I bought White Lily Unbleached Bread Flour and BANG! Had a ball shape before I was finished mixing it. (I do it all in a bowl, using the bread machine is too much clean-up.) The bread flour ingredient cannot be substituted! This is the BEST pizza dough, exactly like a NY pizzeria. Now that I have the flour down, I can have a taste of home at any time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BronR
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Best recipe for pizza dough I've found so far! Texture is what matters here and this has it. I've made it four times now. First time it was tricky working with but you figure it out. I've added flavors since, doubled it, halved it, it always works! Next time I'm substituting flat beer for half the liquid and see what that does, but I'm really having fun with this! Oh, and always toss it, don't roll it! Takes practice but it's fun and you'll get the hang of it! Awesome recipe! Kudos and thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BronR

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This is a GREAT dough! My kids and hubby loved it. He couldn't figure out why mine turned out so much better than his (it's because I use allrecipes and he doesn't)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Nice chewy crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States