New York Italian Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Great! I have made this several times now and learned that while the dough can be used just about immediately, the flavor is really good if you wait a day to use it...and the flavor of the dough is AMAZING when we let it sit in the fridge for two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Following this recipe to the letter = one awesome pizza! My family raved about my pizza last night and asked for more. This is the BEST pizza dough recipe I have come across in my 15 year search for authentic pizzaria at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Not BCrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
When I put this in the refrigerator, it was still very sticky. I thought there's be no way I could work with it. I only refrigerated it about 1 1/2 hours. It was easy to work with and tasted GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This is a great crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ItsJeanettic
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Thanks for the reviews! Being a NY Italian gal out in the South, there were few options for a good pie. I have been experimenting for 3-4 yrs, with much advice from NY professionals, horrible flops, many trials & errors...and then success. I have since bought a KitchenAid mixer and its so much better to mix the dough, as those of you who have suggested here have done. Whether you are able to handle it very wet or decide to add a bit more flour...make sure you do the autolyse (sit & soak of the flour) first and keep it 'pancake batter-like' when doing the preliminary mixing of ingredients-- its crucial! Then add more flour and mix or knead for 10-15 mins. :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItsJeanettic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Tazewell, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Recipe makes A LOT. I used half whole wheat bread dough and made it into a stromboli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This dough is exactly as described. Problem is even with a bread machine, there's no easy way to transfer the finished product from pan to pizza peel, or in and out of the oven without making a messhhn. Its tasty all right, but the difficulty of working with it, earns it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This dough is the ultimate. I will never search for another pizza dough/breadstick dough again as long as I live. It also freezes well. We make a double batch of the dough and save individual pizza-sized balls of dough in ziplock baggies in the freezer, then thaw one whenever we feel like pizza. So easy, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Fantastic pizza dough recipe, nice elasticity to dough and bakes up crispy yet chewy; one of my complaints regarding other recipes is that the crust baked too crisp like a dry old cracker. I baked one crust about 1 hr after refrigerating and the other two crusts a couple of days later. No more takeout pizza for us! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
My husband and I have mastered this recipe! You really have to trust the recipe and keep the dough sticky, do NOT add too much flour. We let it sit in the fridge for 36 hours and it was perfect. We brought it to room temp, rolled out, and topped. We can't wait to show off for our friends! My husband has even perfected the dough toss in the air. Pizzaria style at home! By the way, I make this dough in my stand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States