New York Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This was surprisingly good for how simple it was to make. It's something I'd add to my arsenal for quick family dinners, but with several modifications. Instead of cooking minced garlic in the oil before adding the chicken, which is guaranteed to burn it, I would roughly chop it and cook it over low-ish heat to flavor the oil. Then remove the garlic and add the chicken - re-add the sauteed garlic to the sauce after removing the chicken. My chicken came out pretty tough, I think that instead of basically cooking the chicken breasts through in the skillet, then for another 45 minutes (!), they should be just briefly browned in the skillet on one side, then place them in the pan brown side up, and bake for just 20 minutes. Also I would cover the pan while baking, that will keep the sauce from crusting on top. The look of the sauce crusted on top was really, really unappetizing. But if it stayed just like a cream sauce, it would be good. I seasoned the chicken with Italian seasoning as well as salt and pepper and I thought it was a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Yummy! I did not use wine though. I marinated the chicken breasts in white wine vinegar, olive oil, and garlic for a couple hours, then tenderized the chicken (with my can of soup). Then I used a splash of the WW Vinegar and beef broth (didn't have chicken) in place of the wine in the sauce. I served it over brown rice but I think it would be better over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I've made this recipe numerous times and have always loved it. However, tonight when I went to make it, I realized I had no rosemary or white wine. So I substituted McCormick's Italian Herb Seasoning (adding a little extra) and milk instead of wine. It was still amazing. Gave it a completely different flavor but still loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I always use the low or no fat versions of things like cream cheese, etc. and it was all still good :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I have made this chicken over & over again. It's delicious. I usually don't have white wine on hand, so I omit that and it's not missed. Everyone who tries it, loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
A do-again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This is a great recipe. My picky family really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Pretty good. Similar to a couple of other dishes I've had before but easy and tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I made this dish tonight for the family. Not bad at all. I used 1/2 cup of white wine along with 1/2 cup chicken stock to richen the sauce. I then used the same pan the chicken was brown in and added the wine/stock mixture to gather the lovely browning the chicken left behind, added mascarpone instead of cream cheese with the cream of mushroom. placed it in the oven. We'll see the outcome once the real critics try it out...Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I made this last night with red mashed potato and it was AWESOME!!!! Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States