New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
After experimenting a few times I found it best to line spring form pan with parchment paper and use a stand mixer on #4 speed and the paddle head from start to finish. All ingredients room temp and softened. Mix cream cheese for about 8-10 mins until smooth, add sugar and continue to let it mix for 5 mins, add vanilla and cream of tartar and mix for 2 mins - scrape sides and bottom of bowl occasionally between additions. Here's the delicate part: While continuing to mix, (with all eggs in measuring cup or bowl) add/spill in eggs one at a time as you see the yolk pop and blend add the next - DO NOT OVER MIX - once you add the forth egg use a baking spatula to scrape down side and turn off mixer. Use spatula to scrape and fold mix from bottom of bowl. Pour into crust prepared pan. Bake for 50 mins following remaining instructions to sour cream. After baking sour cream on for 5 mins, let sit for one hr in pan then remove clasp and use a knife or large icing spatula to run underneath entire cake. Grip pan on one side and help cake off pan with knife or spatula on the other side onto a plate or board. The cake will be a bit flexible which helps the transfer yet but can damage if you drop on plate - glide it down closely to plate. If in a hurry, microwave the three cream cheese on a plate for 45 secs, then mix for 10 mins until creamy and smooth. For the eggs, soak in hot water for one to two mins then take out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I needed a plain cheesecake recipe to make a blackberry swirl cheesecake. I mixed the sour cream into the cream cheese mixture and skipped the extra sugar since I was adding sweet pie filling. I cooked as directed and let cool in the oven. It was perfect. The texture and cheesecake flavor were both spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This is by far the BEST cheesecake I have ever tasted - kudos to Kitchen Queen! First off, this is the first time I ever made cheesecake, and I thought the directions were and easy to follow. Second, I don't have a springform pan and the pan I had was smaller than what the recipe called for. So when I poured the batter in, it filled up really full - I scooped some out and then reduced the sour cream mixture at the end. Despite the minor adjustments, it was still amazing! Incredibly smooth and rich - I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
this is the best cheesecake recipe ever. I use it every year for my husband's birthday. This year, I thought I couldn't find it online, and panicked, but I'm so relieved I found it! In Turkey, I cant get sour cream so I substitute it with yoghurt, and it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This recipe is amazing!I made two for thanksgiving and they are picture perfect and delicious. Im so excited to show them off to my family and give the recipe out. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This was my first time I ever made cheesecake and my daughter said it was the best she ever ate. I will save this recipe forever. It was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Derry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This worked perfectly for me, though I skipped the cream of tartar. I think it is the baking technique more than anything that makes this a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Montague, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I would give this recipe more stars...it was excellent! My husband and I have eaten cheesecake all over the US and this one goes toe to toe with a bg name in Chicago! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I volunteer at a local hospice unit and I brought this cheesecake with me today and served it with blueberry pie topping. It was gone in a flash. So creamy and delish. I will make this again. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This is very good, foolproof recipe. I made/baked it exactly as directed (no water bath, no leaving in the oven, nothing) except I always use less sugar even though I am crazy about sugar and everything it goes into, but all recipes usually call for way too much of it. 1/8 cup sugar to the crust, 3/4 or less to the cream cheese mix, 1/3 or less to the sour cream mix. But it will taste all right if made with all sugar too :o) If you are going to put sweet fruit topping on top, you may want to use less sugar in the cake. I also never have a cream of tartar, bummer, I just put 1 tsp lemon juice. Do not over beat eggs! No cracks ever! But it wouldn't matter because you're going to cover it with sour cream. I baked it longer the first time because it was wobbly in the middle, then I baked longer than 5 minutes with sour cream mix on top, but you don't have to do it, 50 and 5 minutes is enough. Anyway, even over-baked it tasted great. I don't think you can ruin this excellent recipe. You don't have to be a perfect baker to make this cake, takes minutes to mix everything up, so easy, thank you so much! P.S. I made it dozens of times, comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States