New York Cheesecake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I think this recipe is amazing! This is my third time making cheesecake, my first was using a different recipe and turned out an absolute disaster! My second time, I used this recipe and the cheesecake was delicious! It was gone in a matter of 2 days! The only thing I would recommend to fellow newbie bakers is to make sure to not overbake this cheesecake! The cheesecake will still look undercooked, but it WILL firm up in the fridge! As an inexperienced baker, this easy recipe is a godsend. The ingredients were ones that I already had in the house, and right now, as i type this, I am baking this cheesecake in the oven. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out awesome...no cracks! First time making cheesecake and impressed everyone. I was just careful when preparing the cream cheese. I creamed the cheese first mixing in the sugar so it's well incorporated and added the eggs one by one. The cake is definitely better the day after. Next time I will add some sour cream for the tangy flavour. And experiment with some oreo cookies for the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
The BEST New York Cheesecake, ever. This cheesecake comes out perfect, and delicious, every time! I will never try another cheesecake recipe...this is already the best! The "sugar cookie" crust puts this cheesecake over the top! Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Although the flavor was delicious, I was hoping for more of a fluffier texture. The center never quite set even after waiting the recommended time and chilling over night and remained a custard-like consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
great recipe, makes a very dense and rich cheesecake. followed another reviewer's idea of adding melted chocolate to half of the batter for a black and white cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverton, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I've made this cheesecake numerous times (have another in the oven right now). It cracks every time for me but I don't care - it tastes fantastic and I always top with glazed strawberries or blueberries anyway. The crust is perfect as I live in Germany and graham crackers are hard to come by. I think the cracking issue has to do with the cream cheese available here - it is only sold in the less dense (whipped) variety so far as I have been able to find. All I can so though is yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcsoxgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Munich, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Not a New York cheesecake. However, if you don't mind that fact, it is a good enough cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I followed the recipe to the TEE and let it sit in the fridge overnight. The next afternoon I was hoping to dig into some delicious cheesecake, but was extremely let down! This was much too egg-y; I'm not even sure the eggs were cooked all of the way because I'm almost certain that it's what led to my young daughter's stomach ache. I even cooked it longer than required! The cheesecake was not jiggly but the inside was pure cream and egg-y ness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Amazing! Mine cracked but that was because my pan was too small. It tasted so good. I will never use another recipe. Just passed this one on to family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwaj1988

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I followed the recipe even though it seemed like too much egg for only 2 packages of creamcheese, yeap, too much egg. Even without the 2 extra yolks. I love Philadelphia's NewYork Cheesecake and wanted to try this recipe as many claims how rich it is. It is creamy and rich (as in eggy). But the taste was bland and a bit too sweet. I simply followed the recipe without adding vanilla or lemon like other suggested. The base/crust was also... hard and too sweet, maybe it needs a bit salt. Anyhow, I am will not be making this recipe again but will try others. I am giving it 2 stars as it does comeout beautifully even without waterbath. Just not my taste and no, it's not NewYork Cheesecake! If you like creme brulee, you might like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 459) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States