New York Cheesecake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This is a fantastic cheesecake recipe as written. I only had 3, 250 gram packages of creamcheese in my fridge when I started out to make this for the first time. I took a chance and used a 475 gram tub of mascarpone in place of the 500 grams of creamcheese I was short of (thats right folks, this recipe needs 2 and 1/2 lbs. of cheese, NOT 2 and 1/2 packages). Dang!!!silky,smooth,rich deliciousness!! A wee splash of vanilla, Greek sour cream in place of the heavy cream, and I swear on all that is holy, that it was the best cheesecake I have ever tasted!! Oh,and by the way,make sure you chill it over night or you wont get the smooth texture and well developed flavors we look for in a good cheesecake.Enjoy, I sure did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I made this Cheesecake & absolutely loved it! I will be making it again & it was enjoyed by all 10 people who tested it on New Year's Day! I did add a little finely grated Lemon Zest. Delicious, Moist & Dense!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
My husband said it was the best cheesecake he's ever had. If you follow the instructions EXACTLY as is, you will succeed! Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Mason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is THE CHEESECAKE recipe I have been searching for for years! How many different recipes I have tried! This one is THE ONE I will keep. Loved it. I modified it a little-- didnt use 2 1/2 pds of cream cheese- used 2 pds and it was still plenty thick. Also, only used 1 cup of sugar in the filling, added vanilla and did not add extra sugar to the crust. It came out PERFECT. LOVED!! it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Just a tip about the use of a water bath - I noticed some are boiling their water for the water bath which is not recommended. The purpose of the water bath is to slowly and uniformly control the heating of the cheesecake as it bakes so, start with room temp water. Setting your unbaked cheesecake in a bath of boiling water is a sudden shock. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Cheesecake was good. However saying that it was 5 of the 8 oz packages of cream cheese would have made it much clearer for the novices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Superb flavor and nicely dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
We liked this recipe but thought it could have a bit more flavor(despite my additions)and sweetness. I made a regular pie crust for the bottom and not the crust recommended in the recipe as we prefer a plain crust. I also lined the sides with parchment paper. The parchment provided me with clean sides without any crumbs and allowed the cake to pull away from the pan without any sticking as this can cause cracking. I added some vanilla and lemon extract. The cake baked up nice and high with no cracks. I served it with fresh blueberry sauce from this site. I like the recipe enough to make again but will bump up the sugar and extract amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I made this cheesecake for the first time and absolutely love it! I'm known as a cheesecake connoisseur by my family and friends, so I'm always trying new recipes. This will now be my GO TO cheesecake recipe. I added about a tsp of vanilla and vanilla beans from one pod; otherwise made as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jami31089
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I followed this recipe to the T and it turned out completely cracked. I've been making cheesecakes for 30 years and have never had a crack before. I might have done something wrong but I've never had anything turn out like this. It might taste good but I have to make another cake now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States