New York Cheesecake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Just a tip about the use of a water bath - I noticed some are boiling their water for the water bath which is not recommended. The purpose of the water bath is to slowly and uniformly control the heating of the cheesecake as it bakes so, start with room temp water. Setting your unbaked cheesecake in a bath of boiling water is a sudden shock. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Cheesecake was good. However saying that it was 5 of the 8 oz packages of cream cheese would have made it much clearer for the novices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Superb flavor and nicely dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
We liked this recipe but thought it could have a bit more flavor(despite my additions)and sweetness. I made a regular pie crust for the bottom and not the crust recommended in the recipe as we prefer a plain crust. I also lined the sides with parchment paper. The parchment provided me with clean sides without any crumbs and allowed the cake to pull away from the pan without any sticking as this can cause cracking. I added some vanilla and lemon extract. The cake baked up nice and high with no cracks. I served it with fresh blueberry sauce from this site. I like the recipe enough to make again but will bump up the sugar and extract amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I made this cheesecake for the first time and absolutely love it! I'm known as a cheesecake connoisseur by my family and friends, so I'm always trying new recipes. This will now be my GO TO cheesecake recipe. I added about a tsp of vanilla and vanilla beans from one pod; otherwise made as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jami31089
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I followed this recipe to the T and it turned out completely cracked. I've been making cheesecakes for 30 years and have never had a crack before. I might have done something wrong but I've never had anything turn out like this. It might taste good but I have to make another cake now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This truly is the perfect cheesecake. I have even had the owner of a pastry shop ask me for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
LOVED LOVED LOVED the taste of this cheesecake. My family and I are "cheesecake snobs" and everyone loved this one!! I did have one problem. I promise I followed all the directions. After the baking process, the cheesecake was placed in the fridge for 13 hours. When we cut the cake this evening...the middle was still runny. Not sure why. Suggestions for next time? I do live in what's considered "high altitude"...maybe the cake should cook longer because of this? Regardless of the runny middle, there was NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by babbiec
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is a very creamy, delicious cheesecake! Very easy to make. Here are a couple hints: I made one, which cracked. I decided to make another with this advice: after removing from the oven, run a knife along the edge of the springform pan- between the cake and the pan. It prevented it from cracking! I also discovered that the crust mixture needs to be mixed until it starts to pull together- like pie crust does. (That was my other mistake!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babbiec

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Taste is great- just what you expect and want for a cheesecake. (Though I am not a connoisseur of cheesecakes, particularly "New York" style) It was my first cheesecake I ever made and here are my tips for making it turn out better than mine did: 1. by "softened" cream cheese, they mean room temperature. Don't even try it until that cream cheese is really, really soft. 2. When you cream in the other ingredients into the cream cheese, mix them thoroughly after each addition. Other comments have said that it's the eggs that shouldn't be overly stirred, so stir and mix well the dry ingredients. 3. Add one egg at a time, mix. Add next egg. I had lumpy muck for my filling because I didn't mix the ingredients in order and I didn't slowly add the ingredients to get a fine consistency (and my cream cheese was too cold). 4. the crust is yummy, but don't prebake it too long or it will be a little dry and tough. just a little though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States