New York Cheesecake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I had the same result as a few other reviewers. The flavor was very good, perfect you could say...but following the recipe, however, left this poor cheesecake a little too soft in the middle. It did not retain form when a slice was cut out. The second attempt was a smash hit: Shoot for 2 hours at 200 degrees, then turn the oven off and let sit for an hour in the oven before cooling overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Hollon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
My husband loved this cheese cake. Followed recipe to the letter. However, it did crack on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This is very similar to my recipe ( I dislike graham cracker crust) for a fresh taste add a little lemon zest to the crust and lemon and orange zest to the cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Youtsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cowgill, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I really wanted to try this recipe but only had three 8 oz blocks of cream cheese and instead of a cheesecake pan I had a 10 inch round. I am happy to say that this recipe halves easily. Thankfully so because I've already had 2 and a half slices and could probably finish off a full sized cheesecake myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NJmikey
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Was my first attempt at a cheesecake overall and this step by step recipe made it easy . A few pointers that isnt mentioned here is NOT to over mix the batter and to also oil the sides of the pan to avoid cracks. Also i used a 9" pan not a 10" pan so i would think w the 10" pan these measurements would be off a hair. Lastly I had to add an extra 1/2 stick of butter to get the short dough to spread otherwise it was glue. After all that the cake was a success!! Ill hide the crack w strawberries / whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
An awesome recipe that you can even cut in half if you don't want to make that big of a cheesecake!!! Love it dearly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Mendoza Garza

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I just made this after 2 consecutive cheesecake failures. It turned out perfectly!! I did not par bake the crust because I didn't have time to allow it to cool completely, and though it was not raw, it would have been better had I done that. I followed a couple other reviewers' suggestions and added vanilla (~2 tsp for me) and substituted sour cream for the heavy cream. I mixed the almost-room-temp cream cheese first to get it smooth, then beat in the sugar, flour, sour cream and vanilla. The final step was mixing the eggs in all at once by hand with a flat whisk. I sprayed the edges of the springform that weren't covered by the crust with cooking spray and had no cracking. It also separated from the pan perfectly. I was fearful of underbaking it because that was part of my problem with the others I tried and they seemed to take forever to bake (2 hours for a 9-inch!), so rather than lowering temp to 200, I lowered it to 225 F for 1 hour, and it was beautifully light golden and perfectly cooked! I'm not sure this makes a difference, but I live at over 5000 feet elevation. I served it with a blackberry coulis made from berries in my yard. It was very yummy! Thank you SO much for this recipe! It made my husband's birthday dinner very special. This will be my go-to cheesecake recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and it came out a big runny mess tastes fantastic though. Next time will cook longer, I stuck my first runny one in the freezer so hopefully it will thicken up! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Absolutely fantastic recipe. This was the third cheesecake recipe from all recipes. The other two were OK. But, if like us, you're a NY style cheesecake fan, then this is definitely the recipe to keep. The shortbread cruset was a huge hit with everybody. My 10" springform couldn't hold all of the mix tho. Ended up with around a cup and a third overfill. But I also added 3/4 cup of homemade blubbery jam for a swirl that turned out great. I was dismayed at the large crack on the top, but luckily it was close to the end of the cook so it didn't dry out the center. Don't be alarmed by the jiggly center. After refrigeration my cake turned out exactly as I'd hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kyoung6646
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Love this cheesecake! It's very popular when I bake it for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States