New York Cheesecake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This is a good base recipe, and the cooking directions are spot on if you know what you are doing. I usually leave my cheesecake in the oven for three hours after baking, just to be safe, and then move it in to the fridge for the rest of the night. A little tip, even though I am sure someone else has said this. Instead of using a water bath to prevent cracks, place a baking sheet with water on the bottom rack and the cheesecake on the top rack of the oven. I gave this four stars because there isn't anything special about this recipe. I have tried many others that taste similar, also i thought it would be more dense by the description.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
It is the best cheese cake recipe. I noticed that it turns out best if you use full fat cream cheese. I had some Neufchatel cheese and it cracked a little. Still wonderful tasting. I still recommend taking a cookie sheet with a little water in it and placing your springform pan in it if you want it extra creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This is an awesome cheesecake recipe. the only problem i had was that the crust didnt stay on the sides of the pan and just kinda melted down..but still delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonbon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krystaharder
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
this cheesecake is VERY tastey! First try at a cheesecake and not a single crack or bubble problem. I followed another reviewer and did half chocolate half white. I also used a water bath AND left the oven off and closed for a good 3 hours. BEFORE mixing chocolate into half the dough, i took the whole bowl and rammed it against the floor about 20-30 times. you will begin to see the little bubbles come to the top and pop out of your batter. For cook time, i did 475 for 10 minutes, then 350 for 30 and then 200 for 30 min. it was still too soft in the middle (couldn't cut it properly) so next time i will leave it at 350 i think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krystaharder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
A great recipe! In Germany we usually use curd cheese for cheesecake and I wanted to try it the American way with cream cheese. It really makes a difference and I'll definitely stick to it. I added 1 tsp vanilla to both, the crust and the filling, but I add vanilla to almost everything I cook or bake. The temperatures/times didn't work for me, I had to leave the cake on a higher temperature (about 300 degrees F / 150 degrees C) for a while longer (30 to 45 minutes) in the oven, but well, every oven is different! The result is a really delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
this recipie is almost identical to my grannys recipie! hers is the best cheescake i ever tasted, so if this recipie had those few missing secret ingredients, i'm sure it would be 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea DeSantis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I made a different crust so this review is just for the cheesecake. I have been making cheesecake the same way for years and I decided to change it a little bit. This was so thick and creamy and delicious. The only change I made was adding a couple dashes of vanilla. I was told by many that it was one of my best plain cheesecakes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rohanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hancock, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This is by far the best cheesecake I have ever made!! There is nothing I would change except, I leave it in the oven an extra 15 minutes at the end to help it firm up, and I add the juice of 1 lemon and 1 tsp of vanilla to the batter. It is amazing!! The crust is so unusual and an interesting twist on a great cheesecake!! I would recommend this to any cheesecake lover!! I brought this to a party, and everyone has been asking for it ever since. It is a hit! Thanks Sandy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cajun Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This was good and very simple. Just added fresh blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cajun Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
So easy and tasted just like the store bought from Costco
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esky25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 459) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States