New York Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Perfect cheesecake. Now I have made a lot of cheesecakes but this is not only simple but probably one of the creamiest I've ever made. This is my suggestion for baking because 400 is going to give you a burned cake... No water bath as water baths often end up with a soggy crust and soggy crust is worse than a crack any day... Just simply bake the cake at 400 for 10min, then without opening the oven door reduce the temp to 200 than continue to bake for about 45 min, until it's almost completely set. Then I turn the oven off and just let it set in there til the oven is cool. Usually about an hour and a half to two hours. Then refrigerate it overnight. I'm telling you this is the best way to do it. There will be no crack and it will look a creamy off white. There ya have it. Oh and I also beat my ingredients with a mixer for close to 10 min. I have found it also makes a difference. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
322 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Not a bad recipe. I've been making cheese cakes for years. However a good cheese cake must be silky smooth and creamy all the way through. NOT lightly brown around the sides! The only way this can be done is in a water bath. Don't worry about soggy crust. Double wrap your pan with 18" heavy foil and I guarantee your crust will not get soggy. When center wobbles, turn oven off, crack the door open and let cool for about an hour. Also do not over mix (10 min. is far to long as suggested by another reviewer) Generally, after adding each primary ingredient, mix for only a min. on mid. high and then scrape down the bowl. This usually means only a total of 4 to 5 min. It should be smooth NOT whipped for a perfect cheese cake. Follow these rules and your cheese cakes will be soft, creamy through and through and will always be crack free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
My future daughter-in-law wanted me to make cheesecake for her wedding cake. After trying several recipes - this one was the unanimous winner. I ended up making 7 total for the reception. Two months later I'm still receiving compliments about how it was the best they've ever had and how creamy it was. The only thing I did different was to adjust the baking time and temperature as was suggested by others. Actually - I ended up doubling the recipe to have a taller cheesecake. **Once you put the cheesecake in the oven - DO NOT OPEN OVEN DOOR UNTIL COMPLETELY COOLED** I baked them at 400 degrees for 15 minutes, then dropped the temperature to 200 degrees for 45 minutes, then turned off the oven let it set for approximately 5 hours. You must also let it refrigerate overnight to set. Every single cheesecake came out perfect. I tied sheer ribbon around the cheesecakes for the presentation and sprinkled rose petals on top. Thanks Mary for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This recipe is ok, but not the best. The best New York Cheesecake recipe I've every made is from Cook's Illustrated Magazine. They baked over 200 cheesecakes to find the perfect formula. New York Cheesecake is supposed to have a deep nut brown crust on the top, no pale cheesecakes qualify for the New Yorker, and you can't get the brown crust in a water bath. The best baking temp and time according to Cook's Ilustrated is: 500 degrees for 10 minutes then 200 degrees for at least 90 minutes, until the center of the cheesecake reaches 150 degrees (yes, use a themometer for this). If it goes beyond 160, it will be overcooked and it will crack. A brown crust on top is what you want on a New York Cheesecake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
1st time and PERFECT! I made an 8 inch cake so I changed the bake time to 400 degrees for 10 minutes then 200 degrees for 45 minutes. No cracks, perfect looking and dreamy tasting. Thank YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMKHERM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winthrop, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2001
I made this recipe for my husband's birthday and the guests went crazy! It was the best cheesecake I've ever made. We couldn't get enough of it. I made a strawberry glaze for the top and served it with fresh strawberries and cream but any berry would be great! I am definitely making it for the next birthday!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Very easy. Very, very good! No, heavenly! I made and baked it exactly the first time. Delicious, moist, and set throughout, but sides and surface were very dark. Second time I baked at 350 for 1 hour, and left in closed oven for 3 more hours. This resulted a much more blonde color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This cheesecake was great to make! I made a cheesecake for the first time using this recipe as the basis for my food finals project. I made two just incase and they both came out perfectly! No crack on any of them. I followed the advice that CDPEFFER gave as well. All my classmates and the taste testers ate all the cheesecake before i was able to have a piece for myself. They were all raving about it, so i guess that means that it tasted great :] Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2000
I made this cheesecake for my daughter's 9th birthday. I covered it with whipped topping, adding some candy decorations and a candle. We served sliced fresh strawberries on the side. Everyone loved it. I did change the crust, using vanilla wafer crumbs instead of graham cracker. A tip would be to blend in the eggs, then the cornstarch, and then the vanilla. If you do it all at once, the cornstarch can get lumpy. Also, I covered loosely with foil the last 10 minutes as the top was getting very brown. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I served this at Mothers Day this year, and my husband's stepfather is enamored with it. He is a hard man to please, so you know its a good recipe! I also followed the directions from CDPEPPER, and it is the best advice I've ever taken regarding cheesecakes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States