New York Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This recipe is amazing. I followed the instructions of CDPEFFER after reading the comments of another baker. I was worried it wouldn't set up, but it did. My husband is picky about sweets, I mean really picky. I saw his face when he took his first bite and knew this recipe was a keeper. The filling is creamy, smooth and just perfect! I used almond flavoring for a change, but will use the recipe as is and just swap out flavorings to suit the occasion. (Made it for Christmas dessert at my step-daugther's Christmas Day Dinner.) Don't be afraid to try this recipe for a special occasion without testing it first. It's absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
A very good basic cheesecake. I added lemon & orange zest and juice because I love a citrus flavor and bakes @ 425 for 20 minutes, then 200 for 40 and left in the oven overnight. Another day in the fridge and the texure was PERFECT. I did get a crack, but it was tiny, and I'm not willing to risk soggy crust with a water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Following other suggestions, baked at 400 for about 15 minutes, 200 for 45; then let sit in oven a couple hours while oven cooled. Served with a rasberry sauce made simply by crushing raspberries, pressing through a strainer to remove seeds, adding a little sugar as desired. Received rave reviews at Thanksgiving dinner I brought it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
My 8 year old made this cheesecake and it turned out great! We used a traditional pie crust vs. true NY style, but it still came out perfectly. Easy to make and a treat to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
this has been one of the best recipes i have found simple fantastic i have been meking money with it jeje, not really awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I too am shocked with this recipe. It was the worst cheesecake I have ever made, or ever had at that matter – even if you throw the box mixes into the category. The crust burned, even on the bottom and the flavor of the cheesecake part was off. I strongly suggest trying a different cheesecake recipe, whoever finds this good hasn’t had good cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rVaughn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I am absolutely shocked with this recipe. I read about 50~ reviews and thought this would be a good recipe to make, but unfortunately it wasn't. The top burned after 20 minutes of baking and as soon as I stopped the 45 minutes of baking and opened the door to cool down, the cake dropped about 2 inches!!! And the worst thing is, I was trying this out for my friends, family and coworkers and I managed to scrape most of the burned-ness off but it was wayy too creamy and tasted like butter!! I'm sorry, but I'm not impressed with this recipe whatsoever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I absolutely love this cheesecake recipe! I made it for my boyfriend for Valentine's Day, and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was the best cheesecake I have ever made - that is from my husband. I made a couple little changes to the recipe based on some of the comments...I used Amaretto instead of vanilla - that was WONDERFUL! I baked the cheesecake in a preheated 400 degree oven for 10 minutes, turned down to 200 for 45 minutes and left it in the oven until cool. Then I put it in the refrigerator until after dinner. The only thing I would do differently, is bake it the night before and have it in the fridge over night and the whole next day. It was better the next day. But oh this was sinfully good! THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaElder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fontana, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Great recipe! Just be sure to not over beat the batter as that can cause cracks on top. I made three of these for a mother/daughter banquet and they all came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LA Homespun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States