New York Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by alicia101584
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I just made this yesterday and my family just ate the last piece. Although it did crack in the middle, i covered it up with strawberrys. Also my crust was a little overdone. I did achieve the blonde color i wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicia101584

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Mineola, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This cheesecake is amazing. Cheesecake is my favorite desert as well as my sisters. One night I decided I would make this since my sister and her husband were coming over for dinner. One thing you should know is my sister is VERY picky, and she LOVED the cheesecake. I had alot left over and brought it into work and everyone is asking me for the recipe! I plan to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I've made this cheesecake several times for family get togethers and everyone raves about it. I don't change a thing. The worst part is that you have to let it sit in the oven so long and can't use the oven. But it's so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Outstanding!!! This is a basic recipe and it was very easy to follow. Very creamy, which is why you must let it set for 24 hours. I cheated and ate a tiny slice so I can taste it, it was devine. If you like a dense cake this one is not for you, but you have to try it. I added a little lemon zest to give it a little kick but other than that it rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I love cheesecakes and enjoy baking them. I've baked a few in my day but my problem was all tasted good but all of them cracked not matter what I did. I decided to give this one a try after reading reviews of women who said to bake at 400 degrees for 10 mins, than turn oven down to 200 degrees for 45 mins, and than without opening the dor to oven shut the oven off and leave in oven for a couple hours. I did this and for once I had a cheesecake that looked beautifull without a crack and tasted amazing. I drizzled caramel and chocolate over the top with a glass of cabernet wine, and thought I died and gone to heaven. Everyone said this was the best cheesecake yet. Baking it slow is the key to no cracks. No water bath needed for this cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving. My son requested it and it has been 15 years since I baked a cheesecake. I could not find my recipe and this one seemed the closest. It was a little bit to creamy, I like a firmer cheesecake. I think i use to large of pan. I followed the directions but I feel it needed to cook on a little longer. I also let it set overnight in the oven. My son love it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This recipe is amazing. I followed the instructions of CDPEFFER after reading the comments of another baker. I was worried it wouldn't set up, but it did. My husband is picky about sweets, I mean really picky. I saw his face when he took his first bite and knew this recipe was a keeper. The filling is creamy, smooth and just perfect! I used almond flavoring for a change, but will use the recipe as is and just swap out flavorings to suit the occasion. (Made it for Christmas dessert at my step-daugther's Christmas Day Dinner.) Don't be afraid to try this recipe for a special occasion without testing it first. It's absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
A very good basic cheesecake. I added lemon & orange zest and juice because I love a citrus flavor and bakes @ 425 for 20 minutes, then 200 for 40 and left in the oven overnight. Another day in the fridge and the texure was PERFECT. I did get a crack, but it was tiny, and I'm not willing to risk soggy crust with a water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Following other suggestions, baked at 400 for about 15 minutes, 200 for 45; then let sit in oven a couple hours while oven cooled. Served with a rasberry sauce made simply by crushing raspberries, pressing through a strainer to remove seeds, adding a little sugar as desired. Received rave reviews at Thanksgiving dinner I brought it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
My 8 year old made this cheesecake and it turned out great! We used a traditional pie crust vs. true NY style, but it still came out perfectly. Easy to make and a treat to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States