New York Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was my first ever cheesecake. I am not a baker (you have to measure stuff) so I read a few posts before trying it. I was careful to not over mix and left it in the oven until cool... WOW what a great cake! My husband and I really enjoyed. This will not be the last time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I made this exactly as directed except I baked at 425 degrees F for 10 minutes, then 250 degrees F for 45 minutes and then turned off the oven and let the cake sit in the oven for 4 hours. I tasted it before refrigerating and wasn't very impressed. But after 48 hours in the refrigerator, it was AMAZING, the best cheesecake I've EVER eaten. Topped with homemade strawberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Easy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This is MY LATE MOTHERS ReCIPE AND POST. I was so honored to find it here 3 months after her passing. I am incredibly thankful for all of you that are taking this recipe and bringing it into your life in your own ways. This would make her incredibly happy and humbled and delights me as it makes me feel that part of her is still with this world, still extending her love and generosity. She was and is a great person and mother and always put us well before herself sadly. She was my favorite cook of course. I've noted that many use a water bath and I know my mom would support this. She told me if I was ever worried about cracks to use a bath and let it cool gently. It may make a difference in the door ajar or not in that she was using an older electric oven that was definitely not as good as what they make now in any way. She was amazing with what she could do with that thing though. So times may have changed the recipe a bit due to differences in equipment since the 60's. She always told me she dreamed of a gas oven/ stove. :) I think that she would love to know all the different things, variations, and events you are making our little family cheesecake for. I was so happy when someone used to at a wedding wow!! Thank you. Prior post(I just wanted to say that this is my Mom's recipe and I didn't know she was posting on here. She is an excellent cook as every one says and it means even more than I just found this RANDOMLY as she has just recently past away unexpectedly.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This is a great recipe. You can use it as a basis for other cheesecakes as well. I melt 6 blocks of semi-sweet chocolate and add it before adding the sour cream for a great Chocolate Cheese Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This recipe is outstanding. I baked Fourth of July cheesecakes for two separate parties this weekend and received rave reviews. I changed the recipe slightly by using 1/3 less fat cream cheese and 1/3 less fat sour cream to lessen the calories somewhat, and these changes also produced a lighter texture, which I loved. Additionally, I added one drop of almond extract, and the grated rind of 1/2 orange and 1/2 lemon. In order to make it festive for the holiday, I mixed 1/4 cup of the 1/3 less fat sour cream with 2 tbsp. of powdered sugar and spread that over the top of the cooled cake. I then added a circle of fresh blueberries to the center, and decorated the edges with fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This was the first cheesecake that I ever made and it came out perfect...My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Great recipe with advice taken from CDPEFFER to bake 10 min at 400 degrees, then 45 min at 200, and leave in oven to cool about an hour with temp off. The second time i made it i used the wrong reviewers tip and it came out burned. Trust me use this baking time and it should come out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I have made this recipe several times, each time is perfect! this is a fool proof recipe! This is also a great recipe to make additions to, one time i melted some orange marmalade and poured it over the chilled cheese cake, another time i added the Zest of 4 meyer lemons, Both time they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States