New York Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 20, 2006
Great cheesecake. Very creamy, and not to sweet. I did find that the top did get a little burnt, but the taste was not affected at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This recipe is ok, but not the best. The best New York Cheesecake recipe I've every made is from Cook's Illustrated Magazine. They baked over 200 cheesecakes to find the perfect formula. New York Cheesecake is supposed to have a deep nut brown crust on the top, no pale cheesecakes qualify for the New Yorker, and you can't get the brown crust in a water bath. The best baking temp and time according to Cook's Ilustrated is: 500 degrees for 10 minutes then 200 degrees for at least 90 minutes, until the center of the cheesecake reaches 150 degrees (yes, use a themometer for this). If it goes beyond 160, it will be overcooked and it will crack. A brown crust on top is what you want on a New York Cheesecake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This was wonderful and very easy. Not a crack in sight. Used a water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Wow! Just like cheesecake in NYC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Absolutely excellent recipe. I started it at 400 degrees for the first 10 min then w/ out opening oven door turnd it down to 225 for 45 minutes. Then left it in the oven for about 1.5 hours. No crack, just rich and creamy, I loved it- everyone in my family did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I followed many of the tips given by other users like baking at 350 deg., adding vanilla and adding 1/4 c sugar to make it sweeter. The cheese cake was perfect except where is the flavor in this cheesecake??? I topped it with cherries and that helped but this otherwide perfect cheesecake lacks flavor. I would love to try it again but somehow jazz up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dexter, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Awesome recipe, i used some of the reviews and made some changes. I zested an orange right over the mixing bowl and it gave it a great fresh taste. And i also baked it in a water bath, my only problem was that i didnt have more cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INJUNCHEF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomfret, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Not a bad recipe. I've been making cheese cakes for years. However a good cheese cake must be silky smooth and creamy all the way through. NOT lightly brown around the sides! The only way this can be done is in a water bath. Don't worry about soggy crust. Double wrap your pan with 18" heavy foil and I guarantee your crust will not get soggy. When center wobbles, turn oven off, crack the door open and let cool for about an hour. Also do not over mix (10 min. is far to long as suggested by another reviewer) Generally, after adding each primary ingredient, mix for only a min. on mid. high and then scrape down the bowl. This usually means only a total of 4 to 5 min. It should be smooth NOT whipped for a perfect cheese cake. Follow these rules and your cheese cakes will be soft, creamy through and through and will always be crack free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Perfect cheesecake. Now I have made a lot of cheesecakes but this is not only simple but probably one of the creamiest I've ever made. This is my suggestion for baking because 400 is going to give you a burned cake... No water bath as water baths often end up with a soggy crust and soggy crust is worse than a crack any day... Just simply bake the cake at 400 for 10min, then without opening the oven door reduce the temp to 200 than continue to bake for about 45 min, until it's almost completely set. Then I turn the oven off and just let it set in there til the oven is cool. Usually about an hour and a half to two hours. Then refrigerate it overnight. I'm telling you this is the best way to do it. There will be no crack and it will look a creamy off white. There ya have it. Oh and I also beat my ingredients with a mixer for close to 10 min. I have found it also makes a difference. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This cheesecake was great I made it for Thanksgiving last year and everyone just loved it....Needless to say that I am in my recipe box printing it out for this year tooo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States