New York Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I was looking for a simple cheese cake, and this is the BEST!! This is my go to cheese cake!! I have made this one many times and get tons of compliments on the crust. I love the fact that there are walnuts and not just graham crackers in the crust, sets it apart from all others!! Not too rich with just the right taste!! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milanville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
It's beautiful! Absolutely perfect! I make this every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas and everyone who tries it always asks for more! I can say it is probably the best Cheesecake recipe I have tried :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
THIS IS A FANTASTIC RECIPE, EXCEPT FOR ONE THING. DO NOT BAKE AT 375 OR THE CAKE WILL CRACK. BAKE AT 300 IN A WATER BATH FOR 2 HOURS. THEN SHUT OFF THE OVEN AND LET SIT FOR ANOTHER HOUR. THEN LET COOL OFF ON COUNTER TOP. TRUST ME, THIS WILL WORK. I BAKED 3 THIS WEEK AND NOT ONE CRACK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
DESCENT. Recipe is easy. I only used 1 cup sour cream; that is all I had. It still turned our pretty good; I'd say descent. Topped it with blueberry filling/topping (Comstock) and without tasted good too. It did crack even when I used the mixer in its lowest setting. (You can't tell with topping.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I used half the sour cream based on other reviewers' recommendations and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I bake almost daily but this is only the third cheesecake I've made. The other two set perfectly (different recipes) but this one did not. I read reviews and also cut the sour cream in half and cooked longer. It still came out like soup but the edges were browning. I did spoon a little out to taste and it was yummy but obviously couldn't be eaten like that. I can't give this a higher rating if the recipe I'm rating needs extensive changing. I will definitely look for a new cheesecake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I did not change any of the ingredients. I did bake it for about 45 minutes, turned off the oven and left the cake in there for about 5 hours. AMAZING cheesecake! The texture, the flavor, everything was perfect. Okay, it cracked in the center. But no one noticed or cared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
simple. delicious. the original. easy to personalize with fruit, chocolate, whatever your heart desires. but honestly, i prefer it just the way the recipe makes it. definitely going to be my holy grail cheesecake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I have been making this cheesecake for 10 years. I printed this recipe when the site was still separated into cakerecipe.com. I've been looking for Ms Eleanor Johnson and the recipe again so I could review it properly: **************IT IS PERFECT!!!************** I will note that for this Christmas, I included little mini cheesecakes in my cookie tray gifts. I mixed the recipe as directed and lined a mini cupcake pan w/the mini paper liners (holiday themed in this case). I used a measuring teaspoon of the crust mix pressed into the bottom of each cup & then roughly 1/8 cup of the cheesecake batter. Baking time is greatly reduced to about 10 min - even rotating midway is a good idea. Some of them still sink a little in the center; nothing a single blueberry & compote won't cover (or strawberry or whatever). It made about 72 mini cheesecakes; not counting the spoonfuls my husband swiped while i wasn't looking. Just my two cents. Wish I could issue more stars. Thank you thank you thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Roscoe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I tried this and i'm thirteen years old. It was easy fun and the best cheescake recipe for a plain cheesecake easy to follow, but cut the sour cream in half for a lest tangy but just right sweet cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States