New Year's Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
THE BEST! This is truly the best fried rice I have ever had. I followed the recipe exactly and desired no changes nor were any necessary. It not only tastes good, it is a beautiful dish! Did I say it smells delicious while cooking! A perfect recipe. Thank you Patty 2007 for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 19, January 2013 – Wonderful recipe. We loved the flavoring that the bacon added to the recipe. I very loosely measured the ingredients, although I did use all of them. We thought the taste of the veggies really came through without being overpowered by the salt in the soy sauce. Just a nice simple fried rice that paired nicely with pork eggrolls. Thanks Patty2007 for sharing your version of Fried Rice – it is a keeper. It was also an excellent choice for Recipe Group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group...DELICIOUS! I did half the amount of rice and used more peas b/c we love them, but kept all of the other ingredients the same. I think if I were to use the whole 4 cups of rice, then I would def double up on the other ingredients, but that's just my opinion. I used a mix of red, yellow and orange pepper b/c I had them to use up. The guys really enjoyed this...we LOVED the addition of the bacon and bacon grease...it made for a very flavorful dish! This is gonna be my new go-to fried rice recipe...so simple~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Just made this for lunch as part of the Recipe Group selection of the week. This was just delicious, quick, and easy. First thing out of hub's mouth was "I love the bacon in this!". Me too. I used pepper bacon, as that's what I have on hand, and it added a really nice peppery flavor. I was out of red pepper, so I subbed some diced zucchini, summer squash, and shredded carrot in addition to the peas and onions. Served with egg rolls. A hit and a definite do-over. Thanks for sharing your recipe with AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Recipe group selection of 1/19/12. I've made something similar for years but never thought of adding bacon. What a good idea. The best part, aside from it being quick and easy, is it reheats beautifully if you have leftovers. Thanks Patty, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by bigcountry
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Excellent ! Nearly identical to the fried rice recipe that came with our electric wok years ago - Definately a family favorite. Thanks for sharing your recipe, great base for many meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigcountry
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
We really enjoyed this recipe as it is very much like what I normally serve. This was a recent Recipe Group selection and I am glad I voted for it. I followed the recipe as written and made my own sweet and sour sauce and served it along side. Thanks for sharing Patty2007!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Great fried rice recipe, the bacon totally makes it! I followed the recipe with a few minor adjustments. I used 4 slices of bacon instead of 3 and next time I might even use a little more. I was making this as a main dish so I also added some chicken which I cooked in a little bit of sesame oil before cooking the bacon. So I cooked the chicken removed it from the pan, cooked the bacon and then followed the rest of the recipe as written. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Delicious! Bacon makes it better! Not authentic but good anyhow. Will make again for my bacon loving family. Thanks Patty2007 for a great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Nearly identical to Kikkoman's "Classic Fried Rice," also from this site. For the most part I followed the recipe as written (there are infinite variations you could try) except for cooking the egg separately, like a crepe, then rolling it up like a cigar and slicing it, chiffonade-style, for a more authentic presentation. Just as it is used in "Classic Fried Rice," this could benefit from the addition of some fresh minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States