New Year's Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Nearly identical to Kikkoman's "Classic Fried Rice," also from this site. For the most part I followed the recipe as written (there are infinite variations you could try) except for cooking the egg separately, like a crepe, then rolling it up like a cigar and slicing it, chiffonade-style, for a more authentic presentation. Just as it is used in "Classic Fried Rice," this could benefit from the addition of some fresh minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Delicious! Bacon makes it better! Not authentic but good anyhow. Will make again for my bacon loving family. Thanks Patty2007 for a great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is a very nice fried rice dish. I completely agree with the other reviewers, the bacon definitely gives this an edge over other recipes. I actually could have used a little more scrambled egg in mine, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 19, January 2013 – Wonderful recipe. We loved the flavoring that the bacon added to the recipe. I very loosely measured the ingredients, although I did use all of them. We thought the taste of the veggies really came through without being overpowered by the salt in the soy sauce. Just a nice simple fried rice that paired nicely with pork eggrolls. Thanks Patty2007 for sharing your version of Fried Rice – it is a keeper. It was also an excellent choice for Recipe Group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Great rice dish, the bacon truly makes the dish nice and tasty, cooked the veggies a bit longer than a min. but still left them crunchy. I used sugar snap peas and the whole red pepper. Paired very well with sweet and sour pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Made this for recipe group. I did not use the bacon(which would not have been a good mix for me) or eggs(allergy) but did use some bacon drippings to fry the vegetables. I doubled the vegetables, but still would have preferred more of them. The addition of some roasted pork at the end gave us 4 main dish servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Great fried rice recipe, the bacon totally makes it! I followed the recipe with a few minor adjustments. I used 4 slices of bacon instead of 3 and next time I might even use a little more. I was making this as a main dish so I also added some chicken which I cooked in a little bit of sesame oil before cooking the bacon. So I cooked the chicken removed it from the pan, cooked the bacon and then followed the rest of the recipe as written. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group. I did not have any peas, so subbed some grated carrot. Have never had fried rice with bacon before. It tasted good when eaten right away; leftovers the next day did not go over so well. Thanks for posting something different for us to try, Patty2007.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
THE BEST! This is truly the best fried rice I have ever had. I followed the recipe exactly and desired no changes nor were any necessary. It not only tastes good, it is a beautiful dish! Did I say it smells delicious while cooking! A perfect recipe. Thank you Patty 2007 for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Just made this for lunch as part of the Recipe Group selection of the week. This was just delicious, quick, and easy. First thing out of hub's mouth was "I love the bacon in this!". Me too. I used pepper bacon, as that's what I have on hand, and it added a really nice peppery flavor. I was out of red pepper, so I subbed some diced zucchini, summer squash, and shredded carrot in addition to the peas and onions. Served with egg rolls. A hit and a definite do-over. Thanks for sharing your recipe with AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States