New Year's Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Nearly identical to Kikkoman's "Classic Fried Rice," also from this site. For the most part I followed the recipe as written (there are infinite variations you could try) except for cooking the egg separately, like a crepe, then rolling it up like a cigar and slicing it, chiffonade-style, for a more authentic presentation. Just as it is used in "Classic Fried Rice," this could benefit from the addition of some fresh minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group...DELICIOUS! I did half the amount of rice and used more peas b/c we love them, but kept all of the other ingredients the same. I think if I were to use the whole 4 cups of rice, then I would def double up on the other ingredients, but that's just my opinion. I used a mix of red, yellow and orange pepper b/c I had them to use up. The guys really enjoyed this...we LOVED the addition of the bacon and bacon grease...it made for a very flavorful dish! This is gonna be my new go-to fried rice recipe...so simple~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is a very nice fried rice dish. I completely agree with the other reviewers, the bacon definitely gives this an edge over other recipes. I actually could have used a little more scrambled egg in mine, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 19, January 2013 – Wonderful recipe. We loved the flavoring that the bacon added to the recipe. I very loosely measured the ingredients, although I did use all of them. We thought the taste of the veggies really came through without being overpowered by the salt in the soy sauce. Just a nice simple fried rice that paired nicely with pork eggrolls. Thanks Patty2007 for sharing your version of Fried Rice – it is a keeper. It was also an excellent choice for Recipe Group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group. I did not have any peas, so subbed some grated carrot. Have never had fried rice with bacon before. It tasted good when eaten right away; leftovers the next day did not go over so well. Thanks for posting something different for us to try, Patty2007.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Great rice dish, the bacon truly makes the dish nice and tasty, cooked the veggies a bit longer than a min. but still left them crunchy. I used sugar snap peas and the whole red pepper. Paired very well with sweet and sour pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Made this for recipe group. I did not use the bacon(which would not have been a good mix for me) or eggs(allergy) but did use some bacon drippings to fry the vegetables. I doubled the vegetables, but still would have preferred more of them. The addition of some roasted pork at the end gave us 4 main dish servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
We really enjoyed this recipe as it is very much like what I normally serve. This was a recent Recipe Group selection and I am glad I voted for it. I followed the recipe as written and made my own sweet and sour sauce and served it along side. Thanks for sharing Patty2007!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Great fried rice recipe, the bacon totally makes it! I followed the recipe with a few minor adjustments. I used 4 slices of bacon instead of 3 and next time I might even use a little more. I was making this as a main dish so I also added some chicken which I cooked in a little bit of sesame oil before cooking the bacon. So I cooked the chicken removed it from the pan, cooked the bacon and then followed the rest of the recipe as written. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
THE BEST! This is truly the best fried rice I have ever had. I followed the recipe exactly and desired no changes nor were any necessary. It not only tastes good, it is a beautiful dish! Did I say it smells delicious while cooking! A perfect recipe. Thank you Patty 2007 for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States