New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Pretty much a traditional recipe. I'm from the south and my family always cooked/simmered the onion(s) and a piece of smoked shank together, w/water to cover of course, until the meat fell off. Adding a little crushed garlic, and fresh ground black pepper. After soaking the Peas, over night or quick method, rinse and add to onion/shank broth. Simmer on back of stove while fixing rest of meal. NO TOMATOES...YUCH. Add salt if needed and serve with rice and corn bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I made this tonight with the thought that it might taste better the second day. It actually tastes VERY GOOD tonight...can't wait to eat it tomorrow. I would give it 5 stars but I had to make some modifications due to what I had on hand. I used 2 cans of rinsed black eyed peas (what husband brought home one day last week), about a cup of dry vermouth for flavor (didn't want to use chicken or beef stock for the "luck" reasons stated by a previous reviewer...I obviously used canned peas, though), 5 cloves of garlic, over 2 cups of cubed smoked ham steak, a fair amount of Cajun seasoning, about 4oz of diced green chilies, and about a 1/2c of ham drippings from the Christmas ham for added pork flavor. I used diced tomatoes and did not puree them. I also did not add any additional water. Again, we are looking forward to eating it tomorrow. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Soup was extremely watery and lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I love this recipe! I make it around 7:00 pm on New Year's Eve and then let it simmer for about 3 hours. It's my breakfast for New Year's Day and usualy my dinner too. I sometimes make cornbread to go with it. We love it and it's so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
It was pretty good.. My family isn't a big fan of black eyed peas... so it wasn't a huge hit. But I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kj421

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I made this on New Years at the last minute and I am so glad I did! I have made it a few times since and will continue to all year long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is by far the best black-eyed peas I have ever had. My family absolutely loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
These are quite tasty but I do have a few changes. I like my peas to be an almost creamy texture so I omitted the tomatoes. I used one ham hock that I made several cuts into, half a link of smoked sausage, one onion, garlic powder, onion powder, chile sauce and chicken broth as the liquid. I let these simmer for a couple of hours and OH MY they are good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This is a really good Black-eyed peas recipe. The second time I made this, I added spinach during the last 5 minutes of cooking - sooo good! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pineville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Never cooked black eyed peas before but was informed I needed to do so for New years day. It came out very good. I liked it with Franks Hot sauce on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cullinanpat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States