New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This recipe is yummy! I'm from Mississippi and have been served black eyed peas all of my life...but never like this. (Don't tell my Mom). I altered the recipe by using canned diced tomatoes that I kinda smashed up a little more with my fingers, frozen peas, one onion instead of two and only cooked everything for an hour or so. My husband liked this also. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
We didn't even eat it. After tasting it we opted to go to a restaurant for New Years dinner. Hope this doesn't mean we'll have bad luck in 2004 but there is no way I could have eaten any more of this stuff no matter how much good luck it was supposed to bring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
I modified the recipe by adding: nearly a cup of rice for a heartier meal, half a chopped bell pepper, and a sprinkling of parsley. Also, we didn't have ham so I cut up some sausage for seasoning and added flavor. I didn't soak the beans overnight--just used two cans of black eyed peas that were pre-soaked. It really cut down on the prep time. The recipe is excellent, and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
This was really good and simple - I used great northern beans rather than black-eyed peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
Ok, so I combined this recipe with the one for black-eyed pea chowder. I was making blackened tuna, and wanted to continue the Southern theme. Apart from adding a little garlic and more salt, I stuck to both recipes, and the result was GOOD! This is hearty, tasty and healthy. An excellent side-dish. Thank you yet again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
The best meal I've had all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Excellent Recipe! My husband doesn't even like Black-Eyed Peas but he loved them prepared this way. The aroma that they filled the house with was mouthwatering. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
Great recipe. Used honey glazed ham and it was sweet and not too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
I fixed this recipe on New Year's day and received rave reviews from a group of people all claiming to hate black-eyed peas. Everyone planned only to have 3 peas, and before everyone left, the pot was almost gone. This recipe is definately a keeper. The only ingredient alteration that was made was that I used Rotel tomatoes instead of regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
My southern husband raved to his parents that his Yankee wife now makes black-eyed peas better than they do! I doubled the recipe so there would be leftovers, but everything was eaten up. It was delicious. Thanks Roxanna....you certainly brought good luck for the new year to our table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States