New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
I made this recipe for New Year's Day and it was put up against my mother's traditional black eyed peas, and these had rave reviews. The leftovers are even better after being in the refrigerator after a day or two and eaten with cornbread. I'll definitely make these again in place of my usual red beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
Thank you Roxanna...u got my husband to eat black- eyed peas for the first time in his entire life. Pass the recipe to my mom and she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
These were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I too made this recipe today for my Southern husband (I am from the North) who praised them again and again (very picky so I had to blend up tomatoes and cut onions very small). I followed this recipe exactly and it came out beautifully. We liked it a little soupy; just remove with a slotted spoon and served over white rice with a little hot sauce and mini cornbread muffins. I also made smokey links with barbeque sauce in the crockpot to accompany. Very good and we will enjoy the few leftovers tomorrow. Have added this recipe to my recipe box on this site and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This was great, although I must admit I definitely changed things up because of what I had on hand. I used three cans of black-eyed peas (two plain and one jalapeno). For the tomatoes I used one can of whole tomatoes prepared as in the recipe and one can of diced with onions/garlic. Used one big onion and about 2 cups of cooked ham. Not sure how much water I added but I filled the 8qt pot to a little over half full. After boiling I covered and simmered for about two hours - turned out awesome! It cooked down a to a great consistency, not too soupy but also not mush. Thanks for providing the starting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
Nice idea to add tomatoes in the cooking pot, but way too much water was called for here and it became a soup instead of beans. There was no need to cook this 3 hours. Blackeyed peas straight from the bag cook nicely in 45 minutes, and all nutrition is lost if cooked too long. Sugar added to this recipe salvaged it from total loss. I'm going back to my traditional pot of blackeyed peas cooked to perfection in one hour barely covered with water, then mixed with brown rice and stewed tomatoes for complete nutrition (full amino acid chain) and REAL Southern cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUDDYMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
Very Good, but needed "spicing up"; we used 2 cans Rotel (drained) & 1 tbls garlic salt instead of canned tomatoes & garlic powder. Plus 2 chopped jalapenos, & only 1 cup chopped ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
What a way to start out the New Year! I soaked the black-eyed peas overnight and then placed them in my slow cooker. I added a can of rotel tomatoes and green chilis (I placed in food processor with tomatoes before adding to black-eyed peas) along with a few extra spices to add some kick. We absolutely loved these and there weren't any leftovers. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This recipe is yummy! I'm from Mississippi and have been served black eyed peas all of my life...but never like this. (Don't tell my Mom). I altered the recipe by using canned diced tomatoes that I kinda smashed up a little more with my fingers, frozen peas, one onion instead of two and only cooked everything for an hour or so. My husband liked this also. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
We didn't even eat it. After tasting it we opted to go to a restaurant for New Years dinner. Hope this doesn't mean we'll have bad luck in 2004 but there is no way I could have eaten any more of this stuff no matter how much good luck it was supposed to bring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States