New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 7, 2004
Flavor was a little bland. But I'm from South Carolina so I may be bias.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
Please! Dont add the powder! Use real Garlic...and the tomatoes have to much acid for me, so I use a tiny bit of brown sugar mixed in..not much. or use a bit of orange juice from a fresh orange..not much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelliegirl21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
Great recipe. This was a good way to use leftover ham from Christmas. I used fresh garlic instead of the powder and canned diced tomatoes instead of whole. Family loved it, a new family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernAloha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
Great recipe. Didn't appeal to the kids much, but the grown ups liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cochran, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I love this recipe, and if you add some grated coconut you're in for a treat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
DELICIOUS !!! If eating these peas doesn't bring me luck this year I don't know what will... I only made a few changes: I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of liquefying a can of whole ones, substituted a tsp. of minced garlic for the powder, and used one onion instead of two. We ate these with barbequed ribs but the peas were a meal in themselves. Next time we will just have some rice on the side... This recipe helped me create an awesome New Year's tradition in my house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
My husband is from the South and wants black-eyed peas every year and I never knew how to make them (except from a can!). He LOVED these and said he could eat them every day. I even liked them and I'm not fond of black-eyed peas, so easy, too!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
New Years Day Black- eyed Peas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I have never been a fan of blackeyed peas until I tried this one. This has got to be the best of best!!! I won't wait until next New Years Eve to prepare it again!!!! Thank you so very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
These are excellent. My family loved them, including my toddler son. I added more pepper and salt to my serving though because I found it to be a little bland. Next time I don't think I'll puree the tomatoes. This time I added a little rice at the end to make it more like Hoppin John, and I also added some bell pepper and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States