New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I've never liked black-eyed peas and made these for New Year's Day, and can't get enough of them!! I think I may have overcooked them a little, but still unbelievably good!!! The only changes I made was use bacon instead of ham (because it's what I had) and added some jalapeno sauce to spice it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Happy New Year! I borrowed from "2BCreative" by soaking overnight (a must in my opinion for dried beans), only using 4 cups of water, adding fresh garlic, & cooking for 1 1/2 hours. I used canned stewed tomatoes whirled in the blender. The result was a tad soupy, but we all had 2 bowls full! Served with my favorite cornbread recipe. I'm happy with this- it will be my standard New Year's recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
We also changed a few things. We sauted the onions with some spices first and added some german sausage. We then added diced tomatoes and fresh, crushed garlic. We used 8 cups of water, thanks for the recommendation! We couldn't imagine using the recommended amount! We also used a vegetable bouillon cube with the water. A splash of tabasco sauce and this was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SETHJEN2004

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I made this experimentally on New Year's Eve. I used my husband and one of our friends as guinea pigs. I used low sodium chicken broth in place of the water and filled the pot to cover the peas plus one inch above them, I used 3-4 crushed garlic cloves instead of powder, and I used three cans (drained) of black-eyed peas instead of dry but did not change the cooking time. I made corn bread to go with this. You can use a slotted spoon if you want more of a pea side dish or use a ladel and ladel the "soup" over your corn bread in a bowl. This was absolutely fantastic either way you serve it! Husband and friend gave rave reviews and insisted I serve the leftovers on New Year's Day. I had quite a bit left over and since today is New Year's day, we'll have it again. It's probably better the day after making it once the flavors really set in. We're having people over for dinner and a football game so this will be GREAT! Thanks Roxanna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Pretty good, added a few of my own touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Springs, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Why wait till new years? They're so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
This recipe was very tasty after tweaking it. I would recommend using only 4 1/2 - 5 cups of water per lb. of peas. I also used a beef boullion cube in addition to the ham and onions but did not use the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Excellent! I did make a couple of changes though. I used fresh black eyed peas and cooked them in 1/2 beef broth and 1/2 water (do not use the recipe's water measurements--way to much water!). I only used 1 onion (b/c that's all I had) and 1 tsp onion powder. I substituted 2 cloves of fresh minced garlic for the powder. My can of tomatoes were petite diced w/ bell pepper, celery, & onion. I like my beans with a bit of a kick so I also added cajun seasoning. I only used about 1.5 cups of ham because that's all I had on hand. Everyone loved it...even the kids! De-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
My fiance LOVED it and so did I. Went perfect with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
i substituted a smoked turkey leg for the ham, added a chopped green pepper, and omitted the tomatoes. i also followed the water directions indicated on the package of the peas... it was pretty tasty and it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States