New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I love black eyed peas but had never made them before and had no idea where to begin. I used what I had at home so this recipe was more an inspiration than exact but they came out great! My changes: I used frozen peas; only 1 onion; minced garlic instead of garlic powder; turkey bacon instead of ham; chicken broth instead of water; half can of tomatoes - with mild peppers - instead of a whole can (I also didn't puree them). I served this over brown rice and both my picky boyfriend and I absolutely loved it! Not traditional but perfect on a cold winter day. I'm definitely adding this to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
My husband hasn't had black eyed peas since he was a kid growing up in Mississippi so he was very exited about this. For a more traditional taste I left out the tomatoes. I used 10 pieces of bacon instead of ham. I added extra fresh ground black peppercorn and cajun seasoning. I also used 1 14 oz can of chicken broth and about 2 cans of water instead of the amount of water called for in the recipe. I used 1 med onion which was plenty. I wasn't thrilled about the taste in general but my husband just LOVED this dish. He said they were perfect. Next time I would use ham as called for instead of bacon for more flavor. I made cornbread with this which he mixed right in and said was delicious. I did also soak the beans for about 8 hours prior to cooking which did not change the cooking time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Great recipes, except I used stewed tomatoes. I've always had for the past 40 yrs stewed tomatoes with black-eyed peas. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Went by the recipe and tasted as I cooked. It was VERY bland so I added a beef bouillon cube and a bay leaf. I will buy some creole seasoning to try next time and maybe some bacon. My husband really liked it and for black eyed peas this was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
The recipe itself is a decent one, but I found out that I don't care for the taste of black-eyed peas. I threw the ingredients into a slow cooker (which I left going for most of the day), and instead of pureeing a can of tomatoes I just added diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Great recipe. I soaked the beans over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Tasty and easy to make. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I made this recipe for New Years, and served with cornbread. The leftovers were even better! Even my kiddos ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This turned out surprisingly well, especially with a few changes and additions. Soaked the beans overnight and drain. Used crumbled bacon (14 strips) instead of ham. Used 1/4 tsp. ground black pepper and omitted the salt due to using canned beef broth. Added 1/2 tsp. liquid smoke. Added 1/2 tsp. dried basil, few shakes of dried parsley and 1 bay leaf. I needed only 4 cups liquid (14.5 oz can beef broth and 1 1/2 cans of water instead of the ridiculous amount of water called for the recipe. Used minced garlic instead of powder. Used dried minced onions. Used Italian diced tomatoes and didn't puree them. Turned out AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Good recipe but I had to spice it up. Used Rotel, a big ham bone, part chicken broth/part water, fresh garlic & other spices. Cooked in crock pot for 10 hours. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States