New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This is the best black eyed pea recipe I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I made this in a slow cooker. Came out perfect! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenElyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I felt this recipe was missing something.....my fiance ate it, but I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
These were awesome! I had to use canned peas since we don't have dried in my very small town in Ontario. I added extra garlic, some ground bay leaves and red chilis. I added the tomates and just mashed them up with the potato masher so they weren' too pureed. I then added my ham and water and about 1cup of water. I also added a tbsp of bacon fat. Simmered on the stove for a few hours and served over rice. Delicious and easy, I will definitely make this again. Do I have to save it for just new year's though, I could eat this once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna K. Crossley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I used beans that I soaked overnight...added some celery, couple minced carrots, green pepper and 2 bay leaves. They were great and even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Easy, basic recipe that was a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This came out absolutely perfect:) I DID cheat and use canned black eyed peas, only because I wanted to have them for New Years Eve dinner. I am from the South, and this was a staple NYE required food. Since moving to Quebec, I missed cooking them last year, but this will be my yearly recipe from now on:) Thank youuuu!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovedInQuebec

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
My family loved it. I thought it needed alot more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I hadn't ever done the whole NY black-eyed peas thing but figured I'd give it a shot - these were good! Because we aren't able to get ham (Saudi Arabia) I did substitute chicken... and made it more like a soup by adding some chicken bullion/water and cilantro. Used can of chopped tomatoes too and I can rarely be bothered to soak beans so used a couple cans of beans and it was a good quick meal. Kids loved it to so maybe it will become a new tradition... assuming we find the black-eyed peas again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This is definately a keeper! I soaked the peas overnight and thanks to another review, I used 4 cups of water. I also added about 8 shakes (maybe 2 tbls) of Franks Red Hot to give it some pizazz. This was my wifes first taste of black eyed peas and she said "you're onto something." It's all good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States