New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This is a really good Black-eyed peas recipe. The second time I made this, I added spinach during the last 5 minutes of cooking - sooo good! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pineville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Never cooked black eyed peas before but was informed I needed to do so for New years day. It came out very good. I liked it with Franks Hot sauce on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cullinanpat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I opted out of using the tomatoes. Used 1 14oz can of chicken broth & 2 cans of water with plenty of Tony Chachere's Creole Seasoning. The best I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pompanogirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was absolutely excellent!! I added a tablespoon of cumin & black pepper for a kick. Will definitely make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Great cold day meal. This was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Instead of water I used beef broth. I put in some fried bacon and some cubed ham and I cooked all of this in my slow cooker on high for 4 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Easy tne very good. Thought it could use some hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
So good I plan to make it later on during the year. One hint I used a ham bone and added sweet basil. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyLane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
In the past I have not been a fan of Black-Eyed Peas. I made this on New Years Day for an extended family dinner. I followed the recipe and they turned out awesome. Even family members like myself, who do not like black-eyed peas, liked this recipe. Wonderful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Okay, this was just fantastic and was a huge hit by my family and relatives. I made just a few changes. First, I added two cups of cooked chicken and spinach sausage to make it with less fat. Then, I used two vegetable broth cubes. I will most likely make this again because this recipe was simply wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Surpriseitswendy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States