New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
easiest and best bep I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
The combination just did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
The only major change I made to this was I used smoked ham hocks, which I cooked for an hour just covered in water, instead of cook ham. Next time I will try the petite diced tomatoes as the regular diced was a little too big. Cooked the onion and a couple of cloves of garlic in a saute pan before adding to the broth. I did strain the fat from the broth (Thank God for my Oxo fat separator!). Added everything to the pot along with a 1/2 tsp of my Dad's creole seasoning. Did need to add some salt at the end of cooking. Since I soaked the peas overnight, I cooked this for about 5 hours on low with the lid slightly off for the extra liquid to evaporate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My husband, who usually doesn't like black-eyed peas, ate 3 helpings! We loved this recipe. I used a can of diced tomatoes and a can of chicken broth replacing some of the water. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PSBIZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I cheated and used frozen black-eyed peas. I also used less ham, fresh garlic and shallots instead of onions. I LOVED the addition of tomatoes. I'm usually not a big fan of black-eyed peas but make them because it's a New Year's tradition, but this recipe made them the best thing on our plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Great with chopped sasages too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I added Rotel tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes and a ham hock instead of the cooked ham, Was okay but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Next time I will soak my beans overnight because they took forever to soften up. But once they did, yummy! I had left over pork loin that I threw in instead of ham and that worked great. Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This is a slamm'in black-eyed pea recipe! My guy, who hates black-eyed peas was persuaded to 'just give it a try' ... and now he is requesting a big pot to be made ... do I have to say he LOVES this recipe?!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Just didn't care for it. It wasn't that tasty to me but I can't pinpoint what was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States