New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Very easy recipe and taste really good! I left out the tomatoes also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
I've been cooking black eyed peas for 60 years and never thought of putting tomatoes in them. It is an excellent addition!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
I NEVER LIKED THESE PEAS BEFORE , BUT I MADE THEM FROM THE RECIPE FOR SOMEONE ELSE, AND AFTER I TASTED THEM I WAS HOOKED...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
FANTASTIC - THESE ARE REALLY GOOD. I have used a recipe similar to this several times. However, I did not add the tomatos during the cooking process. I have cooked black eyed peas for many years. I use to do the quick boil for 1 hour then drain method that is on the back of the package (I did not want to fool with the over night soak). The only things I changed were to use 1 1/4 lbs of black eye peas, 2 small/medium hamhocks (which were deboned and shredded after the cooking time)and 1-14 oz can petite cut tomatoes with garlic and olive oil. I used all of the other recipe ingredients that are called for to taste. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Every thing good about this dish, except, (unless it's me), I didn't get the measurements. It calls for 3 cups water, but later in description it says to fill 8 quart container 3/4 full. It takes more than 3 cups to do that, so I just filled up the pot 3/4 full and it had plenty of water to cook. I didn't soak overnight, just did as the recipe said. Another blunder I see was that it servered way over 6 servings. I would say it served 20!! And we took a couple of healpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
My WHOLE famile LOVED this recipe! My husband was afraid to take a bite because he said he HATED black eyed peas, but he had TWO helping of this recipe! My 2 year old and 7 year old daughters loved it to! I did use two BIG ham hocks instead of chopped ham. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This was really good! I used 6 cups of water instead of 3 and during the last 30 min of cooking I added a cup of okra and a little hot sauce. Served with corn bread. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
These came out very good. My husband went back for 2nds and 3rds and doesn't normally like black-eyed peas. I omitted the tomatoes and used fresh garlic which I crushed in a press. I also reduced the cooking time to 1 1/2 hours by soaking them over night. If you choose to soak them over night make sure to drain the water and rinse the peas. Then return to the pot with 4 cups water and remaining ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
we had these for new year's dinner tonite. i usually made the plain old tradition peas, but my mother in law is on a strange diet due to medicine she's on, so she can't eat cured or smoked meat. (so much for ham seasonng) i saw this and thought it would be good since i couldn't use seasoning and left off the ham. it reminded me of something i'd had. there is a restaurant that has black eye pea soup and that was it. i did change the recipe to make it tastier. i added celery, bell pepper, jalapeno and 2 cans of tomatoes. (i didn't bother to crush them) also a little mixed pepper and cayenne. it was great. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Quite tasty. I'm from the North and hubby is from the South. He has to have the black eyed peas on New Years. It's about the only time of year that I cook these. I made this recipe in the crock pot. I used 2-15 oz. cans of peas and 1- 15oz. can of diced tomatoes, both with their liquid and left out the water and the garlic(hubby isn't crazy about garlic). This was plenty of liquid to boil down a bit in the crock pot. Ham and tomatoes and the onions make it a bit more interesting than plain black eyed peas. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States