New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Tried this recipe today. a little after New Years but better late than never. Basic recipe was a little bland. Added a bay leaf, some creole seasoning and 1 can of chicken broth. this helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
made these last year for new year's and they were so delicious! the whole family loved them and wanted to know what i did. yummy! only change i made was to use petite diced tomatoes instead of whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I don't even like black-eyed peas, but I loved these! Only thing I did different was used a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles to add a little spice. I didn't blend them. AWESOME PEAS! Next time will make with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Great Recipe! I added a couple of teaspoons of Tabasco Sauce to give the lucky peas some kick. jpmccn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpmccn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Terrific recipe. Everyone liked it. I used a smoked ham hock instead of the chopped cooked ham. I used 2 minced cloves of fresh garlic. I used a can of Original Rotel Tomatoes and Peppers, with the juice, just straight from the can instead of pureed tomatoes. I put all the ingredients into a 5 quart pot, and then added water to a depth 1 inch above the ingredients. Then I brought it to a boil, and reduced to simmer for about 2 and one half hours. The black-eyed peas were dried, but quite fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia Deaton Glover
Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Lehman
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Delicious. I started with the (rinsed, sorted and soaked peas, a ham bone, 4 Bay leaves, one onion cut in 4 pieces and enough water to cover (about 6 cups) in the crockpot. When peas were almost tender, I discarded bay leaves & onion & ham bones (after saving the meat, chopping, and returning to the pot). Then I added 1 cup raw brown rice, about 1/2 cup chopped green peppers, 1 finely chopped (and seeded) jalapeno pepper, 2 Tbsp minced garlic instead of the garlic powder, 2 Tbsp finely chopped fresh parsley, 1 Tbsp dried basi (didn't have any fresh), and the tomatoes. When rice was tender, my version of Hoppin' John was ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is a 5 star recipe that is easily tweaked to make it perfect for your family. Until now, I've only ever taken a spoonful of black-eyed peas on New Years (just in case there really is something to the good luck tradition). However, I'm eating these peas regularly now. Following this recipe produces a great dish. Tweaked for my taste buds and to keep it quick and easy, I used 1 undrained (15.5 oz) can of Goya BlackEyed Peas, 1/2 of a 16 oz package of Eckridge Smoked Sausage, 1 (14.5 oz) can of DelMonte Diced Tomatoes with Garlic & Onion, and 1 medium green pepper, chopped. I simmered these ingredients for 5 minutes, then served over Uncle Ben's Ready Rice Whole Grain Brown which cooks in the microwave in 90 minutes. Deelish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was a winner at our 1/1/10 dinner! I added Rotel tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes and a ham hock instead of the cooked ham. I was very pleased and my guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Turned out great, substituted the chopped ham with sausage as a large ham was the main course. Everyone raved about this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Wiggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawkins, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
very good! I used less water and added cayenne pepper, but everything else was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States