New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I halved the recipe, added more ham, and used a can of Rotel tomatoes. It was very good! I personally enjoyed the kick that the tomatoes gave it, but everyone may not like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I used two cans instead of dry beans. Also used a can of tomato sauce since I didn't have canned tomatoes. I also had leftover Honeybaked Ham, which added a nice sweetness. Best black-eyed peas ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melaniemg2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was really tasty. I followed the directions exactly with the exception of using fresh, minced garlic instead of powder. Also, I added a can of Rotel, which gave it some zip. This turned out very soup-y. I think next time I will use less water so the end result is a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
These were so delicious! I followed the recipe pretty closely, but I subbed minced, fresh garlic for garlic powder. I also added a few dashes of cayenne. Other than that, I followed exactly. I love that it calls for ham, as I had some leftover Christmas ham that needed to be used. I soaked the peas for 6 hours in cold water before cooking, and they only took about 45 minutes to cook. Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkcooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I love this recipe . Of course I made a few modifications to it (any good cook would) I used a left over ham bone and did not use tomatoes. Placed in a slow cooker covered with plenty of water and used the other ingredients. Cooked for 4 hrs then mashed some of the beans to thicken. Served over rice and Topped with green onion !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diva318

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
These peas are fantastic! I've never made black eye peas before because honestly every time I've eaten them, I really haven't cared for them. My husband however loves them and has asked me many times to make them. Black eye peas being a southern New Year's menu tradition for luck, and me wanting to do something for just him decided to try this recipe. I have to admit they taste fabulous! The only thing I would change is the amount of water, it was too much. Don't get me wrong, the flavor of this pot liquor will be fantastic with a monster pan of cornbread, but it was still too much. I will use this recipe again, and I will also be eating black eye peas again. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
great way to enjoy black eyed peas and ham for new years. leftovers are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Just delish! I want to make them again for easter.... I recommend them.. my neighbor even loved it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Once I added herb seasonings and let it cook down, it turned out very good. It seemed very bland up to that point. When serving, I sprinkled some cheddar cheese on top and everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
These were the best black eyed peas anyone at our table of 12 have ever had! Normally no one will eat but one bite, but many were going back for seconds, and even asked for some to take home! Glad I tried this one! It is actually quite similar to the way I make Pasta Fazul, an Italian soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States