New Year's Day Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was sooo good. I added a bag of frozen green beans and some peppers for color, and at the end I added some balsamic vinegar cuz I was too lazy to think about individual seasonings. Everyone loved it. 13yo son -"you should make this more often. " He never says that. Made corn bread and collard greens as well, poured leftover greens, ham hock meat and pot liquor into Peas, and next day leftovers were heavenly. I was happily surprised with how awesome this dish was. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Followed this recipe to a T. Everyone went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I halved the recipe, added more ham, and used a can of Rotel tomatoes. It was very good! I personally enjoyed the kick that the tomatoes gave it, but everyone may not like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I used two cans instead of dry beans. Also used a can of tomato sauce since I didn't have canned tomatoes. I also had leftover Honeybaked Ham, which added a nice sweetness. Best black-eyed peas ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melaniemg2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was really tasty. I followed the directions exactly with the exception of using fresh, minced garlic instead of powder. Also, I added a can of Rotel, which gave it some zip. This turned out very soup-y. I think next time I will use less water so the end result is a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
These were so delicious! I followed the recipe pretty closely, but I subbed minced, fresh garlic for garlic powder. I also added a few dashes of cayenne. Other than that, I followed exactly. I love that it calls for ham, as I had some leftover Christmas ham that needed to be used. I soaked the peas for 6 hours in cold water before cooking, and they only took about 45 minutes to cook. Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkcooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I love this recipe . Of course I made a few modifications to it (any good cook would) I used a left over ham bone and did not use tomatoes. Placed in a slow cooker covered with plenty of water and used the other ingredients. Cooked for 4 hrs then mashed some of the beans to thicken. Served over rice and Topped with green onion !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diva318

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
These peas are fantastic! I've never made black eye peas before because honestly every time I've eaten them, I really haven't cared for them. My husband however loves them and has asked me many times to make them. Black eye peas being a southern New Year's menu tradition for luck, and me wanting to do something for just him decided to try this recipe. I have to admit they taste fabulous! The only thing I would change is the amount of water, it was too much. Don't get me wrong, the flavor of this pot liquor will be fantastic with a monster pan of cornbread, but it was still too much. I will use this recipe again, and I will also be eating black eye peas again. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
great way to enjoy black eyed peas and ham for new years. leftovers are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Just delish! I want to make them again for easter.... I recommend them.. my neighbor even loved it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States