New Years Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Well, I found this recipe and thought it looked interesting and tasty, so I decided to give it a whirl. I did make some slight modifications, however. Since I have a larger family, I doubled the recipe...(except for the garlic. I too thought 1 TB was plenty, even for the larger portion and I LOVE garlic!!) I was given a turkey for Christmas, but since we went to the family's house I didn't make it till the other night. So, I used the leftovers instead of sausage. (I'm not a fan of sausage) and since I have NO IDEA how I could get a hog jowl, I just used leftover pork chops that we had in the fridge seasoned with some BBQ rub and Tony Chachere's. I did add the cabbage since I was looking for a black eyed pea and cabbage recipe and I cooked the peas instead of using canned. Other than that, I added the rest the ingredients in this recipe. I didn't add the rice and cheese to the meal, I made the rice, added the cheese to that and had it on the side. I'd have to say that it was a big hit at my house. With 3 teenage boys, a pre-teen finicky girl, a 26 and 22 yr old son and daughter-in-law and myself, it was something I'll have to Pin to have again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I didn't have bell peppers. I reduced the garlic powder. It turned out really great. I will make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Made this with a few changes. Cut the butter to 2 TBSP, used andouille sausage instead of smoked. Used 4 ounces of ham instead of ham hock. Used 1/2 cup habanero shredded chesse instead of cheddar. Still a little soupy so we served over more rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ionia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Camden, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Made this tonight and it was just OK. The proportions of the ingredients seem off to me and definitely NOT 1 tablespoon of garlic powder. Seasoned cooks would know this but novices would not. Hope someone will change that. IF I made it again, which I probably won't, I would use frozen peas, a bit more rice and cheese and definitely more liquid i.e. chicken broth with the water. Also the directions are not well written - do you cover or not? It is best to saute the onion, sausage and green peppers before adding the rest. Just not a well written recipe in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNAWG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I loved this! I used 12 oz. sausage to make up for not having the hog jowl, used 3/4 c. rice, and added garlic and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I never ate black eyed peas before but wanted to start the year with good luck. I had to omit the bell pepper. I substituted diced leftover Christmas ham for the smoked sausage and a smoked pork neck bone for the hog jowl, I also added a bay leaf. Last, I used chicken broth instead of the water and brown rice instead of white. My husband and both agreed this "was perfect". I realize I made a lot of changes from the original recipe but without the original, I never could have made this wonderful dish. Thank you I. Tucker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Weymouth Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Usually, we have black eyed peas left over. Today we did not. I used the butter, 1 onion, 1/2 of a green pepper and a bag of frozen black eyed peas. We had sausage left over from our trip to our favorite barbecue place last night, so that took the place of both the sausage and the hog jowl. After reading the reviews, I used a teaspoon of garlic pepper; it could have used 2 tsp. But otherwise, was very tasty. We didn't use the rice or cheese. The directions on the frozen black eyed peas said to boil for 3 mins and simmer for 40 to 45 mins. They were perfectly cooked at that time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My husband is not a fan of black-eyed peas, but he ate every bite on his plate. Thank you for sharing a wonderful recipe to start the new year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was a good and quick recipe! I ended up using a third can of peas, added a bay leaf and left the rice and cheese to the side so you could add as much as you like. We ate the whole pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Neptune Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I made this recipie and just loved it!! I am a Southern gal and needed to make my Black-Eyed peas for the New Year. I used Bushes black-eyed peas, less butter and added a little cream cheese...not too much. It was great. I am not a fan of bell peppers, so I left them out. I highly recomend this recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States