New Years Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Always trust your instincts! A TABLESPOON of garlic powder? For two cans of peas? The result is inedible; and we like garlic. I'm trying to salvage it by adding more ingredients, but I have a feeling I'll be throwing it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
hahaha its been so long since i submitted this recipe i forgot it. was updating my profile & found it and fixed it ..even tho not new years is still wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
My family loved these. I left the rice and cheese on the side for so that people could add them if they wanted too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Actually made this last week just for something different-turned out pretty good! I used a chuck of leftover ham instead of the jowl but that was the only change. Will try adding cabbage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Usually, we have black eyed peas left over. Today we did not. I used the butter, 1 onion, 1/2 of a green pepper and a bag of frozen black eyed peas. We had sausage left over from our trip to our favorite barbecue place last night, so that took the place of both the sausage and the hog jowl. After reading the reviews, I used a teaspoon of garlic pepper; it could have used 2 tsp. But otherwise, was very tasty. We didn't use the rice or cheese. The directions on the frozen black eyed peas said to boil for 3 mins and simmer for 40 to 45 mins. They were perfectly cooked at that time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I made this recipie and just loved it!! I am a Southern gal and needed to make my Black-Eyed peas for the New Year. I used Bushes black-eyed peas, less butter and added a little cream cheese...not too much. It was great. I am not a fan of bell peppers, so I left them out. I highly recomend this recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My husband is not a fan of black-eyed peas, but he ate every bite on his plate. Thank you for sharing a wonderful recipe to start the new year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Very good indeed and recipe not difficult to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
One of the best black-eyed pea recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This recipe was a hit on New Year's Day since we have to serve Black-Eyed Peas for my Texas family. I did not have sausage or a "ham hock" but used thick sliced cooked bacon and that was awesome. I did not add rice or cheese since we have so much other food to serve that day (pork roast, mashed potatoes, green beans, etc.) I cooked it for a long time and the beans got very soft and tender. By the way I used a whole big bag of FROZEN Black-eyed Peas, easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States