New Year Three-Bean and Artichoke Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by FemmeChef
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This salad was very good! A great addition to our 4th of July BBQ. I added lemon zest and juice to the recipe and used cilantro instead of parsley. You can cut down on the oil to lower calories and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FemmeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Very good. We like these types of salads, so it was right up our alley. I backed down on the oil, subbed cilantro for parsley and added some lemon juice and tabasco sauce. Next time I'll up the green onions and back down on the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I've made this three times already! Love it :o) It's a very forgiving recipe so you can use just about any type of bean and it still tastes great. I even substituted green beans for the garbanzo beans once to reduce the carb count and it was yummy. I've also used chopped vidalia onion when I didn't have green onions on hand and enjoyed that too. The possibilities are endless! FYI: In a time crunch, I used zesty italian dressing instead of making the one recommended. While it was good, it wasn't as tasty as the homemade recipe. I would take the extra time to make it next time and always make sure to mix it up in advance to allow the flavors to marinate and develop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Made this for lunches and it did not last long in our house! Couldn't find northern beans so I subbed white kidney beans. I think you could really use any bean combo you like. Artichokes add a lovely zing!Loved this recipe. Thanks Sistalulabell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This is excellent. I just made it and put it in the fridge, so I know it will taste better in an hour. I left out the green onions because my husband doesn't like onions. I used an extra tablespoon if balsamic vinegar, a 1/2 teaspoon of salt, and basil instead of parsley. I also added 1 teaspoon of red pepper flakes. This recipes is great! Awesome pantry cleaner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This recipe is wonderful!! Tried it because I love artichokes and it was absolutely delicious. Had to make my husband promise not to eat it all so I could enjoy it again the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Yummy! Will certainly make this again. Added celery for additional crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This is a great summer salad. I made as written and ate it for dinner throughout the week. Perfect to come home and not have to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisas74
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This is my pot-luck staple and I get requests for it all the time! ? Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pine Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, but was surprised by the brownish appearance from the balsamic vinegar. Also, I followed the recipe exactly only cutting the oregano back and black pepper back, to taste, but I still found it a bit tart and herby tasting. I guess, I just like all of the ingredients in the salad, but thought the seasonings and vinegar just gave them too strong of a flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Yuba Noodle Salad

See how to make a yuba noodle and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States