New Year Spinach Fettuccine with Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Delicious!!! I used the ingredients according to recipe but changed the way I cooked it. Sauteed garlic than added spinach, put aside. Cooked scallops put in bowl with spinach. Made sauce with low fat soup and cup of white wine. Let cook down about 6 minutes, added scallops and spinach and pasta for last coupld of minutes of cooking. Served with sprinkle of parm cheese. Will make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soapscrubs
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was a great recipe. I must apologize, however, because I have to admit I did alter it; I do typically prefer to try a recipe for the first time written as is before altering. However, my boyfriend doesn't like the taste of white wine (or red), and I thought an alfredo sauce would go perfectly. Consequently, I substituted the white wine and cream of mushroom soup for Rebecca Swift's amazing "Alfredo Sauce" recipe from this site (butter, heavy cream, garlic, Parmesan cheese, and parsley). It was absolutely perfect! Boyfriend told me it was so good we should only have it on special occasions. Also, I forgot to add the mushrooms - had bought them specifically for this recipe and everything - but truly I think the recipe was just fine, if not better, without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soapscrubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was exactly what I was looking for - something fast, something tasty and something that could easily accept some substitutes. I omitted the cream of mushroom soup. Changed the pasta to Whole Grain Barilla Spaghetti and changed the scallops to shrimp. I also dusted a very small amount of parmesan cheese on top. It was great and my roommate who is not very adventurous at all when it comes to food - loved it too! Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melvin Tan
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This is a great recipe. I didn't have white wine, so I used champagne instead. The sour flavour of the champagne gave it a nice lemony taste. However, as with all mushroom soup-based recipes, it can get a little bland. But don't add salt to the sauce. When preparing the seafood, sprinkle some salt. Now, when you pick a piece of shrimp in your fork, it will give you just a hint more flavour. Recipe is great and didn't take very much time at all. Will definitely do this again for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seremban, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I'm not sure what happened here. Maybe it was the quality of wine that I used or that I just didn't let it cook out enough, but my sauce turned out terrible. I'm glad I got the scallops on sale, because I threw the whole thing away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I used low-fat cream of mushroom soup and cut back on some of the oil. It turned out pretty good and lighter than some cream sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
Quick & easy...can feed 6 in-laws and leave them smiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
Easy recipe, I used fresh spinach and bella mushrooms, with minced garlic. Also prepared differently, sauteed spinach with garlic, then mushrooms. I let wine reduce a bit before adding soup. Removed all, cooked scallops (did not cut the scallops, we love the large sea scallops!!) and then added pasta and all ingredients back to the saute pan. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
This was so easy and absolutely delicious! I love how this recipe seems to versatile. I did't have spinach so I used chopped brocoli. I'm not a big fan of mushrooms so I used cream of brocoli soup. For a little extra flavor I threw in some sliced black olives. I think next time I'll put in sun dried tomatoes, too. As long as the white wine sauce and scallops are involved it'll always taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
I had to make alot of substitutions in this recipe because the ingredients weren't on hand, but it still turned out wonderful and got my non-green eating husband to look at spinach differently. Very rich, so should be saved for special occasions but delicious all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States