New Year Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
We LOVED this dish. I made New Year's dinner for my wife & thought I'd give this one a try (even though I never really cared for peas. I used 2 cans of black eyed peas (probably could've added another) since I saw recipe in the morning & wanted to try it that night! Also I threw in a couple slices of chopped ham from the Christmas leftovers. Ok, as many reviewers have stated- there is a lot of liquid. I used the called for amount of chicken broth & only 2 cups of water. STILL too much liquid. For us, the dish turned out spicy. I used REGULAR pepperocinis- and yes they DO create a spicy after taste in the back of your throat. Since my wife doesn't like spicy food, she (being a great cook) "rescued" my dish by extracting 2 cups of the cooked broth from the pot, adding 1-2 tbl spoons of sugar, a 6 oz can of tomato paste, and another cup of chicken broth - all to "knock down" the spicy kick. We LOVED it!! I will definitely make this again. VERY flavorful & hearty. I was sad when we ate the last of it! Perhaps I will just use one pepperocini next time ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Amazing flavor! The only change I made was to not cover the pot. 16 cups of liquid is a tremendous amount and I knew if I covered the pot, I'd have soup when it was done cooking. But that's the ONLY change I made, which is rather remarkable for me. Amazing flavor. Absolutely amazing. Sadly, I used fresh peas, and, as such, supposedly did not have to pre-soak. I think it would have been perfect if I'd used dried peas. Whoever woulda thunk that. So sad that the packaging for my much more expensive fresh peas said explicitly, 'do not pre-soak, ready to cook'. But that certainly isn't the recipes fault and I certainly won't do it again. I will definitely make this recipe again, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TJ
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
It has always been a family tradition to cook black-eyed peas on New Years and this year was my turn to cook. I tried this recipe by using some of the modifications that the others suggested and this dish turned out great. I did a total of 9 peperoncinis, used 2 cups of water instead of 8 cups, and used 4 cups of chicken broth instead of 8 cups. I did not have Cajun seasoning nor garlic powder. Instead I used maybe a half of a teaspoon of Tony's creole seasoning and it was awesome. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I will definitely make this again. Has anyone tried this with vegetable broth instead of chicken broth?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
A winner that will become a New Years Day tradition! Followed original recipe with the following exceptions: did not add extra water, only used the chicken broth and juice from diced tomatoes. Subbed 4 oz chopped bacon instead of ham hock. Did not need extra salt or pepper. A little hot sauce on individual servings if you like more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Way too much liquid. I omitted the water completely, using only the chicken broth and it was still more like a soup. Nice touch of flavor with pepperoncini though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cardiacrn1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockledge, Florida, USA
Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
There is no need to soak the peas overnight as they aren't thick skinned like most dried beans. If you do so, they just get mushy while cooking. Instead, just sort them, and give them a good rinse in water before cooking. The pepperoncini added no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was the best black-eyed pea recipe we've tried thus far. We used butter instead of olive oil to saute the onions and garlic, and added a diced stalk of celery. Didn't have any ham to add, unfortunately, so made 'meatless'. For liquid, used 4C of chicken stock and about 2C of water (just eyeballed so didn't look too dry/wet), plus whatever with the tomatos. Didn't have pepperoncini's, so diced up a small jalepeno (sauteed with the other veggies). Left out the garlic powder too. So very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I liked it but like others here I didn't use as much liquid. I used only 1/2 the broth and water and it still had a lot of juice. The pepperoncinis were good idea. I also added a little bit more ham. Overall it was a good recipe I'll use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
My husband loved this. I didn't have pepperonicin peppers...I put in half a jar of medium salsa and a pound of fried bacon. DIdn't have a ham hock. Tasted great....better the next day. Definately we will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Outstanding! The only changes I made was using a single small container of Knorr concentrated chicken stock with 5 cups of water and a red bell pepper instead of diced tomato. There is plenty of tender ham on the ham hocks, but you have to cut through the fat to get it out. This dish was absolutely delicious and I will make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States