New Year Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This is better than a lot of the hoppin' john recipes out there. It is very flavorful. Just add rice! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Really good, easy recipe. This made a LOT of "pot liquor" so I will probably reduce the water by 2 or 3 cups. Wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
1. The pepperocinis are those (very mild) yellow peppers that you often get whole on top of Greek salads... they will not make this dish spicy, but add a very special flavor to it. I would not reccommend leaving them out. You can find them at any grocery store - they are in jar near where you find the olives. If you would like the peas to be spicy, by all means add some other peppers or even some cajun seasoning. 2. The ham hocks that are called for do not offer any meat to be eaten - they serve the purpose of flavoring the peas. If you would like chunks of meat in the peas, use another type of ham as well as the hocks (as the flavor that the bones and skin impart are the signature flavor of traditional southern black-eyed peas) 3. If you would like less liquid in the peas, or a thicker sauce, reduce the water by half and/or add a tablespoon of flour to the sauteed onion to make a sort of paste before adding the liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAYAESR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great recipe - I didn't have the peppers so I swapped out the plain tomatoes for a can of rotel. it still had a nice kick. I also used 2 cloves of real garlic. My boyfriend and his boss ate 3 bowls each and his boss took the leftovers home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Enjoyed this recipe. It seemed like way too much liquid so I only added 3 of the 8 cups of water and there was still too much "pot liquor" at the end. Also, the ham meat never fell off the bone and I cooked it quite a bit longer than recommended (about 4 hours total). I didn't have any pepperoncinis so I had to leave that out, but I think they would definitely have added something to it. Thought about substituting jalapeños but didn't want to make it to spicy for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars even though I ended up burning them. If you double the recipe, don't put as much liquid as the recipe tells you. It's way too much! I also added a whole jar of jalapenos that I diced. It tasted very good before I turned up the heat too much to boil off some of the excess water. Oh, well. I will be making again. I'll just be keeping a closer eye on my pot next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Grimes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is a good recipe, but like other reviewers, I only added half the water it called for and I think it was still too much. Not sure you need to add any water at all... I didn't add the pepperonicinis because I didn't want it to be too hot for my son. The flavors are great, just serve over rice with corn bread and collard greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I cut the water back to 2 cups and the chicken stock back to 4 cups. 10 cups less liquid than the recipe calls for! But it is delicious and my 10 year old even likes it. I also added a ham steak all cubed up, and some Cajun seasoning. Two extra pepperoncini. Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
i used smoked turkey wings, fresh garlic, 1/2 the liquid and one celery stalk. great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States