New Year Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I liked it but like others here I didn't use as much liquid. I used only 1/2 the broth and water and it still had a lot of juice. The pepperoncinis were good idea. I also added a little bit more ham. Overall it was a good recipe I'll use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
My husband loved this. I didn't have pepperonicin peppers...I put in half a jar of medium salsa and a pound of fried bacon. DIdn't have a ham hock. Tasted great....better the next day. Definately we will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Outstanding! The only changes I made was using a single small container of Knorr concentrated chicken stock with 5 cups of water and a red bell pepper instead of diced tomato. There is plenty of tender ham on the ham hocks, but you have to cut through the fat to get it out. This dish was absolutely delicious and I will make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
STUPENDOUS FLAVOR! Do NOT leave out the pepperoncini, but adjust amount up or down according to your 'spice' preference - the flavor is superb! Believe me, I almost passed this one by when I saw pepperoncini as an ingredient - so VERY glad I did not!! DE-LI-CI-OUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was amazingly easy to prepare, and delicious! I did substitute smoked turkey for the ham hocks, but otherwise followed the recipe. On the advice from others I did include the pepperoncini peppers and it was not at all spicy. My family loved it so I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Loved this recipe -- real keeper. Don't need the water and it was perfect. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I'm not sure whether I should review this as I just used it as a guide to throw together a last minute whim. I used canned black eyed peas, bacon and far less liquids to keep it fast - but tried to keep true to the mix of other ingredients/seasonings. The whole family loved it - and they are not bean lovers - there's nothing left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was great! I adjusted the recipe quite a bit, thanks to many of the reviews here. :) I omitted the water and made this a vegetarian dish by using vegetable broth instead of chicken stock and omitted the ham hock. I did not drain the tomatoes, and the liquid from the broth & tomatoes was more than enough for this recipe. I had to cook it longer than 3 hours to reduce the liquid, I'd say around 4 hours, and it was a perfect consistency. I paired it with Italian-Style Swiss Chard & Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread (both also found on allrecipes). Great complements to the beans. The chard helped add some additional spice to compensate for the lack of meat in the beans. A great New Years Day meal! Thank you for sharing this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
gr8 recipe... as like many others, i put less water... family loved it... will be using again soon.. thx...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
My first attempt at Black eyed peas and hamhocks. I followed closely, but did not have the peppers or bay leaf. I baked overnight in the crockpot on Low. These were soooo good. Great Flavor!!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States