New Red Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Great potato salad for those who love red potatoes like I do. I added about a tablespoon each of dill relish and mustard though. Hint: cook the potatoes kind of slowly so the outside isn't too soft and the inside isnt' too crunchy, ,like mine were the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
362 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
Since I found this recipe a month ago, I've made it at least 6 times (mainly for family & neighborhood get-togethers). It's received rave reviews at all. I love that you don't have to peel the potatoes. This saves alot of time if you're preparing for a larger crowd. I would suggest salting the potatoes before boiling and increasing the salt/pepper seasoning X 2. Otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing. This will be a staple in my collection. A perfect, creamy, crunchy potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
This recipe turned out wonderfully. Having read the reviews, I added bacon, dill and red pepper to the mix and thought it tasted superb. I also used apple cider vinegar in place of distilled white, and wonder if red wine vinegar might also be yummy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
An all time family favorite - with one change. I eliminate the vinegar and milk, and add granulated garlic (or garlic powder) to taste. We're not fond of vinegar in our potato salad, and the additional garlic flavor makes the dish! I've also made this dish using regular potatoes - peeled, and finely chopped yellow onions in place of green onions. It's very good! I usually top with a sprinkling of paprika, parsley flakes and halved, hard-boiled eggs for presentation. Everyone asks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I don't even like potato salad and I liked this one! I was instructed to bring p. salad to a cookout so I grabbed this recipe. Added bacon bits and shredded cheddar cheese, and it was a huge hit! This is now my designated dish at gatherings! Thanks for changing my mind about potato salad :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANC239

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2001
This is a delicious potato salad. I made it for a cookout and everyone loved it. I added crumbled, cooked bacon. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I was attracted to this recipe because I love green onions and prefer red potatoes to others. I took some suggestions from the Summer Potato Salad recipe on this site: I replaced the vinegar in this recipe with lemon juice, and the salt with seasoned salt. To cut down on the mayo I used 1/3 plain yogurt instead. I don't think the yogurt made a difference in the taste. But I thought it needed more flavor when I tried it so I did add a few tablespoons of dijon mustard, a lot of fresh parsley, and some salt. It turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I made some changes to modify our taste. With these changes, I think this is a great recipe and simple too. I omitted the eggs (don't care for eggs). I reduced mayo by 1/2. I added more green onions. I also added a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce, 1/4 teaspoon of celery seed and 1/4 teaspoon dill. Also, needed more salt than recipe stated. Per all recipes' cooking potatoes tips, my potatoes were the perfect texture. I left the skins on cut them into bite-size chunks. Place them in a pot and cover them with water. Bring to a boil and salt the water. Keep the pot at a gentle boil and cook for approx. 8-15 minutes until tender and drain. Cool potatoes by spreading them on a baking sheet in a single layer. I never liked making potatoe salad because I'd either have hard or mushy potatoes. If you follow the cooking steps, I think you'll have perfectly cooked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This potato salad was bland, bland, bland. I didn't even have to ask my husband what he thought of it - his face told all! He said it was a little bit better with some mustard in it, but it still wasn't that good. The only good thing about it was that it improved with age. 2 days later it tasted much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
i had been looking for a great, quick potato salad recipe(i had never made it from scratch before), and this was superb! great tasting and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States