New Red Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. I have made it several times for various cookouts and have been asked for the recipe many times. Thanks alot for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Once again, Allrecipes delivers! I made this potato salad for 80 people at a work BBQ. Followed the recipe exactly and got more compliments than I can count. This is a great potato salad for a crowd because it isn't heavy on any one flavor. People said it is great basic potato sald without all the fluff people tend to put in these days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This was yummy!! I brought it to a cookout and everyone wanted the receipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This is a great basic potato salad. Quick and easy. I followed the directions to a tee. Next time I would add two more eggs, two Tbs of prepared mustard, and some additional salt. All and all a great starting base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
OMG!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I added some powdered mustard and celery salt and it was very good! I would think it would be too bland without the addition of those spices. Everyone I served it to enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
After all the great reviews I was surprised that I was so disappointed with this salad. The only change I made was to cut back the mayo by 1/2 cup and substitute with 1/2 cup of sour cream. With a better dressing this would have been good, but it tasted very greasy and oily to me. Not one I'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I took the advice of Roxy52278 on this one... I added a Tablespoon each of mustard and relish as was suggested. Also, because we love green olives, I choppped up a handful of them and added those as well. I served it yesterday with our 4th of July spread and everyone loved it. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I found this to be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This recipe is nearly identical to my mother's - it has been a hit at family gatherings for years. Even folks who don't normally eat leftovers manage to spirit away some of it away! (I'm one of those who hate mayo and eggs, but go figure - this is one of my favorite dishes!) Ours doesn't have the celery, and, for those who find the recipe here too bland, we use a fair amount of cayenne powder. When we were children, there were two bowls of this - one with Best Foods mayonnaise, and one with Miracle Whip. Now we're all happy with the Best foods version. Oh, and ours has about a tablespoon of prepared mustard. I agree with those who prefer to cube the potatoes first, it is quite difficult to get red potatoes cooked through and still retain the peel otherwise. Someone suggested sprinkling the salt, pepper, and vinegar on the potatoes while they are still warm - I think that is an excellent idea, but would only work if they had been cubed prior to cooking. I guess what I would suggest for those who have offered less than five stars is this: potato salad is a very traditional, familial dish. If you find a recipe too bland, or it lacks or includes ingredients which aren't your preference, tweak the recipe to suit yourself. This particular recipe has excellent proportions, and is a terrific base for your preferences. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States