New Orleans Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This recipe is delicious...I have cooked it quite a few times both for family and guests. It always wows. I had to play with making the roue, but I think I now finally have it right. I will make this one again. Bernadette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Very good indeed. Only changes: I used week chicken stock, because fish stock cubes aren't available in my neckadawoods, and the shrimp I used were frozen-shelled, so I couldn't make stock with the shells. I also upped the butter to 1/4 cup to match the flour, because the proportions in the recipe seemed odd to me. Served it on steamed white rice. Very nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Paroo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
The only flavor this had was the red pepper flakes. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sedgwick, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mulvane, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Not as good as I had hoped. The "gravy" did not form so I used a little cornstarch. Then it was very thick and had little taste. Maybe a more traditional roux would add depth to the flavor. Will try again with a darker roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
Really yummy. This is the first time that I ever made a roux. I screwed it up a little so it was a little lumpy, but I just kept whisking until it went smooth. I added hot chili paste to the veggies after I cooked them, and I added crushed red pepper flake in the roux when i added the salt and pepper. My boyfriend and I both enjoyed it thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Outstanding! Good luck finding fish stock at the store, so I used vegetable broth instead and it was great. I love New Orleans style cuisine and this fit the bill. I found myself adding a little extra flour and a little cornstarch to thicken the gravy. Thanks Sylvia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
This was alright. My hubby absolutely loved it, and I will admit that the shrimp was quite good. I had to substitute jalapenos for the hot red pepper, and I added the spicy carrots from the can of jalapenos. It was good, nice and spicy, but maybe I'd like it better with the red peppers. Color can make a world of difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAHLERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandt, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
Yummy! I've made this three times and everyone loves it. We like it spicy but if you don't you'll definitely need to ease up on the peppers. Also, I measured all ingredients precisely and I found that there was not sufficient flour to thicken into a gravy. I added a small flour and water mixture just before adding the veggies so that I had the right consistency. (This is no problem for me as I'm more of a 'throw it all in without measuring' kind of cook anyway, which was is just what I did after the first preparation) I found that it took me longer than the estimated times, but maybe the estimate assumes vegetables chopped, ingredients measured and waiting, etc. Also, instead of fish stock, I just took the shells from the shrimp I was already using and made shrimp stock and used that. Maybe it's better with the fish stock but I thought this was delicious and time-saving for me. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
I thought this was very good although spicier than I thought it would be. Next time maybe I'll only use 1/2 a green pepper - the man didn't like that so much. I served it with dirty rice which was a great compliment. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
Wow, was this fantastic! We live in Texas and eat alot of Cajun/Creole food and this recipe was amazing. Super easy, quick and once again fantastic. A must try. I just wanted to add we added more hot pepper to make it a little spicer. We have spicy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States